Overview: The Structured English Immersion (SEI), PreK-12 Endorsement authorizes the holder to teach one or more English language learners in the area of the educator's prerequisite certificate. Requirements may be subject to change and are fully referenced in the Arizona Revised Statutes and Administrative Code: R7-2-607, R7-2-615, and R7-2-621.
Out-of-state certificate: If you hold a valid, comparable out-of-state educator certificate/license that is in good standing follow this link for information and steps to apply under reciprocity. Note: If you hold an English as a Second Language (ESL) endorsement from another state you may apply for the Arizona ESL endorsement under reciprocity.
A formal review is required to verify that all requirements have been met. Please visit the "How to Submit Official Documents" below for the proper submission of the required documents. Failure to submit documents as described could cause a delay in the processing of the application.
Prerequisite Certificate: A valid Arizona Early Childhood, Elementary, Middle Grades, Secondary, Special Education, Career and Technical Education, PreK-12 Teaching, Subject Matter Expert, Specialized Secondary STEM, Supervisor, Principal, or Superintendent Certificate.
Application: A completed Application for Certification.
Fee: The fee for this endorsement is $60. Per Board-rule, certification fees are non-refundable.
Official Transcript: An official transcripts documenting the 3 semester hour SEI course. Note: Transcripts that are uploaded through the educator portal or emailed by the applicant are not official and will not be accepted. Official transcripts must be submitted as follows:
Electronic official transcripts must be submitted directly by the college or university to [email protected].
Paper official transcripts must be in a sealed envelope and mailed by the college or university to the Arizona Department of Education - Certification Unit; PO Box 6490, Phoenix, AZ 85005-6490.
The full endorsement will automatically renew with the certificate on which it is attached.
Applicants must meet all requirements.
Prerequisite Certificate: A valid Arizona Elementary, Secondary, Special Education, Career and Technical Education, Early Childhood, Arts Education Prek-12, PreK-12 Physical Education, Subject Matter Expert, Specialized Secondary STEM, Supervisor, Principal, or Superintendent Certificate. -AND-
Option A or B - One of the following:
Option A: Three semester hours of courses related to the teaching of the English Language Learner Proficiency Standards adopted by the Board, including but not limited to instruction in SEI strategies, teaching with the ELL Proficiency Standards adopted by the Board and monitoring ELL student academic progress using a variety of assessment tools; or
Option B: Completion of 45 clock hours of professional development in the teaching of the English Language Learner Proficiency Standards adopted by the Board, including but not limited to instruction in SEI strategies, teaching with the ELL Proficiency Stand-ards adopted by the Board and monitoring ELL student academic progress using a variety of assessment tools through a training program that meets the requirements of A.R.S. § 15-756.09(B).
Note: Board rules allow for the issuance of a 3-year Provisional SEI endorsement for applicant's who hold the appropriate prerequisite certificate and completed a 1 semester hour SEI course or 15 clock hours of SEI training. However, Arizona SEI training providers and institutes of higher education currently only offer the coursework or training for the full SEI endorsement.
Pursuant to section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statutes, an agency shall limit all occupational regulations to regulations that are demonstrated to be necessary to specifically fulfill a public health, safety, or welfare concern. Pursuant to sections 41-1093.02 and 41-1093.03, Arizona Revised Statutes, you have the right to petition this agency to repeal or modify the occupational regulation or bring an action in a court of general jurisdiction to challenge the occupational regulation and to ensure compliance with section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statutes.