Approved Areas

Approved subject areas may be added to an Elementary, Secondary or Special Education (K-12) certificate.

Approved Area Requirements

Approved Area Related Forms
To add an approved area to an appropriate valid teaching certificate, 
use the Certificate Application: 
Certification Application Form [PDF]

Once issued, approved subject areas are attached to all appropriate certifications you may hold and approved subject areas do not need to be individually renewed.

Approved Areas include but are not limited to:
  • Art
  • Biology
  • Business
  • Chemistry
  • Drama
  • Earth Science
  • Economics
  • English
  • General Science
  • Health
  • History
  • Mathematics
  • Middle Grades General Science 6-8
  • Middle Grades Language Arts 6-8
  • Middle Grades Mathematics 6-8
  • Middle Grades Social Studies 6-8
  • Music
  • Physical Education
  • Physics
  • Political Science/American Government
  • Social Studies
  • Spanish