Overview: The Driver's Education Endorsement is optional and can be added to a valid Arizona Teaching Certificate. This endorsement will automatically renew with the certificate on which it is attached. Requirements may be subject to change and are fully referenced in the Arizona Revised Statutes and Administrative Code: R7-2-607; R7-2-615 (A)(B)(C)(Q); R7-2-621.
Out-of-state certificate: If you hold a valid, comparable out-of-state educator certificate/license that is in good standing, follow this link for information and steps to apply under reciprocity.
A formal review is required to verify that all requirements have been met. Please visit the "How to Submit Official Documents" below for the proper submission of the required documents. Failure to submit documents as described could cause a delay in the processing of the application.
Prerequisite Certificate: You hold a valid Arizona teaching certificate.
Application & Fee: A completed Application for Certification.
Fee: The fee for this endorsement is $60. Per Board-rule, certification fees are non-refundable.
Arizona Driver's License: A valid Arizona Driver's License.
Driving Record: A copy of your motor vehicle driving record for the previous 2 years.
Official Transcripts (if applicable): Official transcripts documenting the required coursework.
If you completed coursework from an institution outside the United States, you must submit an evaluation from a Department approved foreign credential agency. Please see the Approved Foreign Credential Evaluation Agency list.
Verification of Training (if applicable): If you are using Arizona Department of Education-approved Driver’s Education training in lieu of official transcripts, submit copies of the certificates of training.
Applicants must meet all requirements listed below.
Prerequisite Certificate: A valid Arizona teaching certificate.
Coursework. Official transcripts from an accredited college or university or certificates documenting completion of Arizona Department of Education (ADE) approved training to include all of the following:
A three-semester hour course taken from an accredited institution or 45 clock hours of ADE-approved training in safety education;
A three-semester hour course taken from an accredited institution or 45 clock hours of ADE-approved training in driver and highway safety education,
A three-semester hour course taken from an accredited institution or 45 clock hours of ADE-approved training in driver education laboratory experience.
A valid Arizona driver’s license; and
A driving record with less than seven violation points and no revocation or suspension of driver’s license within the two years preceding the application (available from Motor Vehicle Division).
Documents Requiring Submission by the Verifying Authority
Official Transcripts: Transcripts that are uploaded through the educator portal or emailed by the applicant are not official and will not be accepted. Official transcripts and foreign credential evaluations must be submitted as follows:
Electronic official transcripts must be submitted directly by the college or university to [email protected].
Paper official transcripts must be in a sealed envelope and mailed by the college or university to the Arizona Department of Education - Certification Unit; PO Box 6490, Phoenix, AZ 85005-6490.
Foreign credential evaluations must be sent directly by the approved foreign credential evaluation agency to [email protected] or mailed to the Arizona Department of Education - Certification Unit.
Accepted Photocopies from the Applicant
AZDPS IVP Card: Submit a photocopy of the Arizona DPS IVP Fingerprint Clearance card.
AZ Driver's License: Submit a photocopy of your valid Arizona Driver's License
Pursuant to section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statutes, an agency shall limit all occupational regulations to regulations that are demonstrated to be necessary to specifically fulfill a public health, safety, or welfare concern. Pursuant to sections 41-1093.02 and 41-1093.03, Arizona Revised Statutes, you have the right to petition this agency to repeal or modify the occupational regulation or bring an action in a court of general jurisdiction to challenge the occupational regulation and to ensure compliance with section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statutes.