Overview: This Certificate authorizes the holder as a speech-language pathologist for grades PreK-12. The educator must also hold a valid Arizona Department of Health Services (AZDHS) Speech Pathology license. The educator may not add additional approved areas or endorsements to this certificate. This certificate is valid for 12 years and is renewable. Requirements may be subject to change and are fully referenced in the Arizona Revised Statutes and Administrative Code R7-2-606; R7-2-607; R-2-601.01; R7-2-617 (A)(D); R7-2-621.
Out-of-state certificate: If you hold a valid, current, comparable out-of-state speech-language pathology certificate/license that is in good standing in another state, follow this link for information and steps to apply under reciprocity.
To qualify for this certificate applicants must meet the requirements under Required Coursework/Training.
A formal review is required to verify that all requirements have been met. Please visit the "How to Submit Official Documents" below for the proper submission of the required documents. Failure to submit documents as described could cause a delay in the processing of the application.
Application: A completed Application for Certification.
Fee: The required fee is $60. Per Board-rule, certification fees are non-refundable.
Official Transcripts: Official transcripts documenting a Master's or more advanced degreeand all applicable coursework.
Note: If you completed your degree and applicable coursework at an institution outside of the United States, you must submit an evaluation from a Department approved foreign credential evaluation agency. Please see the "Approved Foreign Credential Evaluation" list.
Master's Degree: A Master’s or more advanced degree from an accredited institution in Speech Pathology or Communication Disorders. Required documentation: official transcripts documenting program completion.
A minimum of 250 clinical clock hours supervised by a university or speech-language pathologist with a certificate verified by one of the following:
Clock Hours: A letter on official letterhead signed by a university department head or designee verifying completion of required clock hours; -OR
Clinical Competence: A letter signed by a speech-language pathologist with a certificate of clinical competence verifying completion of required clock hours; -OR
ASHA Card: A valid American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) certificate of clinical competence in speech pathology. Submit a photocopy of your ASHA membership card OR a letter from ASHA verifying a valid certificate of clinical competence in speech pathology.
Exam or ASHA Membership verified by one of the following:
ASHA Card: A valid American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) certificate of clinical competence in speech pathology. Submit a photocopy of your ASHA membership card OR a letter from ASHA verifying a valid certificate of clinical competence in speech pathology; -OR
Exam: A passing score on the Education Testing Service (ETS) National Exam in Speech-Language Pathology. Request to have your score reported by ETS to the Arizona State Department of Education (state code 8517) and submit your official score report; -OR
Exam: A passing score on the Speech and Language Impaired Special Education Portion of the Arizona Educator Exam. Submit a photocopy of your passing score report from AEPA/NES.
Documents Requiring Submission by the Verifying Authority
Official Transcripts: Transcripts that are uploaded through the educator portal or emailed by the applicant are not official and will not be accepted. Official transcripts and foreign credential evaluations must be submitted as follows:
Electronic official transcripts must be submitted directly by the college or university to [email protected].
Paper official transcripts must be in a sealed envelope and mailed by the college or university to: Arizona Department of Education - Certification Unit PO Box 6490 Phoenix, AZ 85005-6490.
Clock Hours: If submitting clock hours, a letter on official letterhead signed by a university department head or designee verifying the completion of required clock hours must be emailed to [email protected].
Clinical Competence: If using demonstration of clinical competence, a letter signed by a speech-language pathologist with a certificate of clinical competence verifying completion of required clock hours must be emailed to [email protected].
Accepted Photocopies from the Applicant
AZDPS IVP Card. Submit a photocopy of the Arizona DPS IVP Fingerprint Clearance card.
Pursuant to section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statutes, an agency shall limit all occupational regulations to regulations that are demonstrated to be necessary to specifically fulfill a public health, safety, or welfare concern. Pursuant to sections 41-1093.02 and 41-1093.03, Arizona Revised Statutes, you have the right to petition this agency to repeal or modify the occupational regulation or bring an action in a court of general jurisdiction to challenge the occupational regulation and to ensure compliance with section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statutes