Board Members

The State Board of Education is created by the Arizona Constitution and charged with the responsibility of regulating the conduct of the public school system. The Board is composed of the following eleven members. Each member of the board, other than the superintendent of public instruction, is appointed by the governor with the consent of the senate. Members are appointed to a term of four years.

  • Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • One president of a state university or state college
  • One president or chancellor of a community college district
  • One owner or administrator of a charter school
  • One superintendent of a high school district
  • One classroom teacher
  • One county school superintendent
  • Four lay members
Board Members as of January 2017
Position Name Term End Predecessor
President # Tim Carter 1/20/2018 Thomas Tyree
Vice President # Lucas J. Narducci 1/18/2021 Reginald Ballantyne III
Superintendent of Public Instruction Diane Douglas 1/7/2019^ John Huppenthal
President of State University/College Dr. Rita H. Cheng 1/21/2019 Dr. Michael Crow
President/Chancellor of Community College District Dr. Daniel Corr 1/18/2021 Dr. James Rottweiler
Charter School Owner/Administrator Michele Kaye 1/18/2021 Greg Miller
High School District Superintendent Calvin Baker 1/20/2020 Roger Jacks
County School Superintendent Tim Carter 1/20/2018 Thomas Tyree
Classroom Teacher Janice Mak 1/20/2020* Amy Hamilton
Lay Member Chuck Schmidt 1/21/2019 JaimeMolera
Lay Member Jared Taylor 1/21/2018 Cheryl Rogers
Lay Member Lucas J. Narducci 1/18/2021* Reginald Ballantyne III
Lay Member Patricia Welborn 1/18/2021 Christopher Deschene

# Indicates position on board, which is in addition to and separate from the board seat the person is filling.

* Indicates member has been nominated, but Senate confirmation still pending.

^ Concurrent with term of office