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Exceptional Student Services (ESS) / Data Management

Frequently Asked Questions — PRESCHOOL TRANSITION
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WHAT DO “IN-BY-3,” EARLY INTERVENTION TRANSITIONS, TRANSITION FROM

PART C TO PART B, AND/OR PRESCHOOL TRANSITION MEAN?

A: The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), for both Part C/Arizona Early
Intervention Program (AzEIP) and Part B/Preschool Special Education Programs, requires
that children participating in Part C (AzEIP) transition to Part B preschool programs by
their 3 birthday. This means an individualized education program (IEP) must be
developed and implemented by the child’s third birthday (date the IEP is written). If the
child is found ineligible for Part B services, a prior written notice (PWN) must be provided
to the parents by the child’s 3rd birthday. Because of decisions made by the IEP team
(including the parent), the child may have a start date that is after the date the IEP is
written (e.g., children with summer birthdays would start when school begins or parents
might choose a later start date). As with all IEPs, extended school year (ESY) services
must be considered.

Q2: WHY DO CHILDREN WHO WERE SERVED IN PART C (AZEIP) HAVE TO BE “IN-BY-
377

A: Children identified with special education needs and served under Part C of IDEA between
the ages of birth to three should not have an interruption in services during this very
important developmental time. Families who have children with disabilities are under
increased stress and should experience a smooth transition in services for their children.
The Part B State Performance Plan (SPP) requires 100% compliance for “In-by-3,” which
is best for children and families!

Q3: WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A STUDENT WHO IS “REFERRED FOR

TRANSITION” FROM AZEIP AND A STUDENT WHO IS “REFERRED” FROM AZEIP?

A: Only children who were found eligible by AzEIP services up to age 2.9 and “referred for
transition” are required to be “In-by-3.” (When the public education agency (PEA)
receives the PEA Notification Referral Form this is considered the “point of referral” and
the PEA is required to provide PWN for referral and Procedural Safeguards. If this occurs
during the transition conference, the PEA should be prepared to begin the
review/collection of existing data.)

Children who are eligible for AzEIP services between 2.9 and 2.10% are counted by
districts as late referrals TO Part C (deductible or not counted against the school district’s
100% requirement). Children who are found eligible for Part C services between the ages
of 2.10%2 and 3.0 should be counted as child find/regular referrals and are not included in

A rizona
Department of Education ~2~



Arizona Department of Education Last Updated: March 2015

the number of children transitioning in Row 1. A child find referral gives the district 45
days to screen and 60 days to determine eligibility from consent to evaluate.

IF A CHILD IS REFERRED FOR TRANSITION BY AZEIP DURING THE CURRENT
REPORTING YEAR BUT DOES NOT HAVE HIS OR HER THIRD BIRTHDAY UNTIL

THE NEXT REPORTING YEAR, HOW SHOULD THIS STUDENT BE REPORTED?

A: When reporting AzEIP referrals in Row 1, only include those children who have reached
their third birthday during the fiscal year (on or after July 1 and on or before June 30 of
the reporting year).

Q5: HOW DO WE REPORT PRESCHOOLERS WHO DID NOT HAVE AN IEP WRITTEN BY
THEIR THIRD BIRTHDAY?

A: Report each child by SAIS ID or a unique student ID (to develop a unique student ID that
avoids duplication, use the child’s initials and a combination of letters and numbers up to
10 characters in length), the reason the IEPs were late, and the number of days after the
third birthday the IEPs were developed in Row 5. Only children who were late referrals TO
Part C (i.e., children who were found eligible for AzEIP services between the ages of 2.9
and 2.10 ¥2) or who were impacted by parent/child unavailability will be deducted from
the formula, which calculates the percentage of children who were “In-by-3.” Count each
child under one reason only. You should issue an AzEIP Alert for any late referrals FROM
Part C that were due to service coordinator delay. Send an e-mail to
C2BInbox@azed.gov with the child’s name, date of birth, and explanation/timelines for
the late referral FROM Part C.

Q6: WHAT HAPPENS IF WE DO NOT MEET THE 100% REQUIREMENT FOR

TRANSITIONS FROM PART C TO PART B (IN-BY-3)?

A: Districts must submit written procedures (developed and agreed upon with their service
coordinators) to the Arizona Department of Education/Early Childhood Special Education
(ADE/ECSE). They must also submit a tracking database showing three consecutive
months of 100% In-by-3 data, beginning no earlier than July 1st of that year. Further
verification of the correction of noncompliance requires submission of the front page of
the IEP for all children reported in your transition data that shows the date of birth and
the IEP date (or alternately, the PWN showing the date noneligibility was determined) to
ADE/ECSE. It is suggested that all districts keep this front page of the IEP (or PWN for
noneligible children) in a separate file for corrective action or random audits.
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WHY ARE CHILDREN WHO DID NOT PASS THE HEARING AND/OR VISION

SCREENING CONSIDERED “NOT DEDUCTIBLE”?

A: The Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP) has determined that delays caused by
not passing a vision and/or hearing screening are not acceptable reasons to deduct a
student from the formula for the SPP/Annual Performance Report (APR). IDEA regulations
require a smooth transition, which means there should be no interruption in services. The
process should begin early enough for vision and hearing follow-ups to take place.

Q8: WHY ARE CHILDREN WHO ARE COUNTED AS LATE REFERRALS FROM PART C

CONSIDERED “NOT DEDUCTIBLE”?

A: OSEP does not allow late referrals FROM Part C to be deducted from the SPP/APR. The
expectation is that Part C and Preschool Programs will work together for seamless
transitions. A district must send an alert to C2BInbox@azed.qgov if a late referral is
received from Part C that is due to Service Coordinator Delay.

Q9: HOW DO I INDICATE THAT THERE WERE NO DELAYS?

A: Report O (zero) in Rows 4 and 7.
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