Driver’s Education

Drivers Education GraphicUnder Arizona’s driver license law, minors are eligible to receive a class G license if they successfully complete an approved driver education program or have a parent or guardian certify that they received 30 hours of supervised driving practice, 10 of those at night, and have had a learner’s permit for five months. Completing an ADE-approved program satisfies the driver’s license law.

 A public or private high school may participate in the Arizona Department of Education’s Driver Education Program provided the following requirements are met:

  1. Students receive 30 hours of classroom instruction;
  2. Students receive 6 hours (or the equivalent) of behind-the-wheel
    instruction (BTW);
  3. The class and BTW is taught by a certified teacher with
    a driver education endorsement;
  4. The principal or superintendent verifies the school information.

The Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division (MVD), allows driver education teachers in participating schools to issue Certificates of Completion to their students who successfully complete the course. MVD waives the behind-the-wheel portion of the driver’s license test for students with Certificates of Completion, although they reserve the right to administer tests to any applicant if the field station representatives believe doing so would be in the interest of public safety. Contact Third Party Driver Services at (602) 712-7173 for more information concerning MVD Certificates of Completion.

2013-2014 Participating Schools

Application Information

ADE Driver Education Program application can be downloaded by clicking here.

Memorandum dated April 15, 2013 from ADE

Additional Information

 High School Driver Education Program Updates (from ADOT dated June 16, 2008)

Driver Education Endorsement information can be found Here

Driver License Manuals may be requested through the ADOT MVD or viewed/printed online at (available in English and Spanish):
http://www.azdot.gov/mvd/custsvcguide.asp

Arizona Department of Transportation

If you have any questions regarding the Driver’s Education Program, please contact:

Tori Havins
Phone: (602) 542-8720
Fax: (602) 364-1938
Email:Victoria.Havins@azed.gov

If you have any questions regarding the Driver’s Education application process, please contact:

Davidson Riggs
Phone: (602) 542-8730
Fax: (602) 364-1938
Email: Davidson.Riggs@azed.gov