Migrant Education Program

Mission

To impact teaching and learning in K-12 classrooms so that migrant students achieve high academic success.

Program Description

The Migrant Education Program (MEP) is a federally funded, state-operated program under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) that provides supplemental program services to the children, ages 3 through 21, of seasonal or temporary agricultural workers. In Arizona, the program delivers services primarily through local educational agencies (LEAS) that design programs to meet the unserved needs of children residing in their area. To facilitate broader services, some provisions are delivered through statewide models which, in particular, are designed to meet the credit accrual and informational needs for students. 

  Announcements!!! 

 

Upcoming State Migrant Parent Advisory Council (SMPAC) Meeting and ID&R Training:

May 6, 2014
Arizona Department of Education – Central Office
3300 North Central Avenue
Phoenix, Arizona  85012
— 16th Floor —

Click here to register for SMPAC

Click here to register for ID&R

  Website Directory

Contact Information

Highly Effective School Division
Migrant Education
Arizona Department of Education 

Ralph Romero
Deputy Associate Superintendent:
State Director
Phone: (602) 542-7462
Fax: (602) 542-5175
Ralph.Romero@azed.gov
Mary Frances Haluska
State Migrant ID&R Coordinator
MSIX User Administrator
Phone: (602) 542-5169
Mary.Haluska@azed.gov
Stephanie Berry-Olivas
Migrant / Title I Education Program Specialist
Phone: (602) 542-3747
Stephanie.Berry-Olivas@azed.gov
David Anderson
Migrant / Title I Education Program Specialist
Phone: (602) 542-3072
David Anderson@azed.gov
Raquel Alvara
Migrant Education Program Specialist
Phone: (602) 542-7463
Raquel.Alvara@azed.gov
Christopher Dickinson
Migrant Program Project Specialist
Phone: (602) 542-9411
Christopher.Dickinson@azed.gov
Alicia Jordan
Migrant Program Administrative Assistant
Phone: (602) 542-7462
Alicia.Jordan@azed.gov