OELAS Conference Coordinator: Candis Middlebrook / Email: Candis.Middlebrook@azed.gov

The 2015 OELAS Conference is sponsored by the Office of English Language Acquisition Services unit of the Arizona Department of Education and will be held December 9-11, 2015 at the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort in Tucson, Arizona. Our theme this year is “Optimizing Opportunities,” reflecting the determination, confidence, and ambition we hope to instill in our English language learners (ELLs) as we guide them in the acquisition of language, knowledge, and new skills. This conference will provide meaningful professional development opportunities for educators of ELLs, designed to help meet the unique challenges faced in the Structured English Immersion or mainstream classroom. There will also be sessions geared toward administrators who support, coach, guide, and assess within an English language acquisition program in the state of Arizona.

This year we are excited to welcome many new dynamic speakers, including Dr. Luis Cruz, Dr. Douglas Fisher, Dr. Anita Archer, and Dr. Timothy Rasinski. We are equally thrilled that William van Cleave, Kylene Beers and Bob Probst, Heidi Koski, and members of the Kevin Clark Consulting team will be joining us again.

Registration Information

Click Here to Register for the Conference!

Conference registration: $395/person

Online registration is open August 19, 2015 – November 20, 2015.

Your invoice number (emailed to you upon completed registration) is your confirmation number.

Breakfast and lunch each day are included.

Each conference participant must register individually for this event using an ADE Connect account.

If your district or charter will be registering 5 or more attendees, please email Candis Middlebrook at Candis.Middlebrook@azed.gov for assistance with bulk registration.

Conference cancellations / substitutions must be made on or before December 1, 2015.

Awards Ceremony

Click Here to Register for the Banquet!

A presentation and banquet to honor the 2015 Arizona ELL award winners will be held on Wednesday evening, December 9, 2015. Award winners will include the 2015 Arizona ELL Teacher of the Year and the 2015 Arizona ELL Student Success Stories recipients. Separate registration is required for this event. There is no additional charge to attend the banquet for registered conference attendees; however, we must emphasize that your registration is a commitment to attend.

2015 ELL Student Success Stories Flyer

2015 ELL Student Success Stories Nomination Form


2015 OELAS Conference – Session Proposal Application


Previous OELAS Conferences

OELAS Homepage