Arizona School Recognition

Arizona's Title I School RecognitionThe Arizona Department of Education, the National Association of State Title I Directors (NASTID), and the U.S. Department of Education are partners in the Title I Distinguished Schools Recognition Program. The National Title I Association has been selecting examples of superior Title I school programs for national recognition through the National Title I Distinguished School Program since 1996.

The purpose of the Title I Distinguished Schools Recognition Program is to identify exceptional Title I schools that will represent Arizona. In order for a school to qualify for the Distinguished School award, the following criteria must be met:

Category 1:   A Reward School that is Highly Performing
Category 2:   A Reward School that has significantly closed the achievement gap (high progress) among students

Each year, the ADE National Title I Distinguished Award Committee along with the Committee of Practitioners (COP) invites high poverty Reward Schools to apply for the National Title I Distinguished Award. The school’s written applications are reviewed by a team and the finalists are chosen to receive an on-site visit. Once the on-site visits are completed, one school is chosen in each category to represent Arizona at the National Title I Conference. They join hundreds of other distinguished schools making a difference for our nation’s Title I children. These schools demonstrate a wide array of strengths including team approaches to teaching and learning, focused professional development opportunities for staff, individualized programs for student success and strong partnerships between the school, parents and the community.

2014-2015 Title I Distinguished Schools
Ed Pastor Elementary School, Gadsden Elementary School District, San Luis, Arizona
McClintock High School, Tempe Union High School District, Tempe, Arizona

2013-2014 Title I Distinguished Schools
Nautilus Elementary School, Lake Havasu School District, Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Humboldt Elementary School, Humboldt School District, Humboldt, Arizona

2012-2013 Title I Distinguished Schools
Wade Carpenter Middle School, Nogales School District, Nogales, Arizona
Acacia Elementary School, Washington School District, Phoenix, Arizona

2011-2012 Title I Distinguished Schools
Village Vista Elementary School, Paradise Valley School District, Phoenix, Arizona
Akimel O’Otham Pee Posh Charter School (3-5), Coolidge, Arizona

Our annual MEGA Conference provides an additional opportunity to publicly acknowledge all Reward Schools. As successful Title I Schools, we continue to honor and explore more ways to share their exemplary programs. Each Reward School receives a Certificate of Acknowledgement and Title I Reward Pins for every single staff member in their school.