Certification Requirements

Requirements may be subject to change and are fully referenced in the Arizona Revised Statutes and Administrative Code.  All submitted documentation, including transcripts, becomes the property of The Arizona Department of Education and will not be returned.

Arizona Educator Exams (Arizona Educator Proficiency Assessments (AEPA) or National Evaluation Series (NES)

In November 1997, the Arizona State Board of Education adopted rules regarding the evaluation of educators applying for state certifications. The rules require that applicants for teacher certification pass both a test of subject knowledge and a test of professional knowledge.  The Arizona Educator Exams (AEPA or NES) were designed to ensure that each certified teacher or administrator has the necessary knowledge to teach or lead in Arizona public schools.

For more information (test selection, dates, fees, registration, study guides, etc.) on Arizona’s Educator Exams, see: LINK

Comparable Out-Of-State Exams

Comparable out-of-state exams can only be used under the rules of Reciprocity.  If you are completing a State Board approved program you must take and pass the appropriate NES or AEPA exams for the program you are completing.  If you already hold an Arizona certificate, you must take the appropriate NES or AEPA exam(s) for the certificate or additional approved area you are applying for.  These versions supersede any previous versions.  Lists will be updated periodically as new information is obtained.

  • Scores 10 years or older will not be accepted.
  • Exams from other states will only be accepted under the rules of reciprocity.
  • Out-of-state educator exams will only be accepted if the exams were taken and passed to qualify for an out-of-state educator certificate prior to application for the Arizona certificate.
  • Comparable out-of-state exams will be considered for Arizona Highly Qualified Teacher (HQT) status.

Lists of Comparable Out-of-State Exams:

ETS Praxis II

Non-Praxis Exams by State