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BOOSTER SEAT INFORMATION

On August 2, 2012 a new law will go into effect that requires children under age 8 to be
restrained in a booster seat.

What does this mean to families?

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for children between 5 and 8 years
old. Many of these children were not properly restrained. To improve safety for
children, Arizona increased the length of time for children to be in a child safety seat to
age 8. This law does allow a police officer to stop a car if a child is not seat belted in a
child safety seat.

Is there a fine?

Yes, the fine will vary by city but at minimum it is $50

How much does a booster seat cost?

These seats can be bought at Walmart, Target as well as other places that sell car seats for
as little as $20.

How is the booster seat installed in the car?

The booster seat is made to make the vehicle seat belt fit a child. The child sits on top of
the booster seat with a lap and shoulder belt and is then buckled into to the car. By lifting
the child up in the booster seat, this makes the seat belt fit better.

Is there someone to call for help?

Yes, many communities across Arizona have child passenger technicians. Visit
www.seatcheck.org for a technician in your community.
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