Frequently Asked Questions

Pursuant to A.R.S. § 15-249, the Data Governance Commission (DGC) is established to coordinate with the Arizona Department of Education to create and implement the Arizona Education Learning and Accountability System (ELAS). DGC shall identify and evaluate the needs of public educational institutions, provide recommendations and establish guidelines relating to ELAS technology and its application (A.R.S. § 15-249.01).

Data Governance Commission (DGC) Term Appointments

The DGC is a thirteen member body with appointed and non-appointed members. All members are assigned by lots to serve two, three or four year appointments. After initial appointments are served, members thereafter serve four year terms.

The Data Governance Commission Membership is available here.

Arizona open meeting laws (A.R.S. § 38-431.01) requires meetings of the commission to be open to the public. Please see current and future commission meeting schedule for information.

The Arizona education learning and accountability system (AELAS) is required, under A.R.S. § 15-249, to:

1. Maintain student level data required to meet state and federal reporting requirements. Required data shall be longitudinal and include:

  •  Student demographics
  •  Grade level
  •  Assessment
  •  Teacher assignment and;
  •  Other data

2. Incorporate the student accountability information system. A.R.S. § 15-1041.

3. Be accessible through an internet web browser to transmit data collection information, compilation and reporting.

Yes. You can find the Annual Report here.

The Data Governance Commission meets the third Friday of every quarter at:

The Arizona Department of Education
1535 West Jefferson
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Room 409

Please see the Meeting Schedule for dates and times.