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M E M O R A N D U M 
 
Date:  April 18, 2011 
 
To:  Driver Education Coordinators 
 
From:  Jean Ajamie, Director 
  School Safety and Prevention 
 
Subject: Driver Education Program Application for School Year 2011-2012 

 
Enclosed is the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) Driver Education Program application 
for the 2011–2012 school year.  If your school meets the stated requirements and would like to 
participate in this program, please complete and return the application by May 31, 2011 to the 
address listed on the form (please do not fax the application).  The requirements of the Driver 
Education Program are: 
 

1. Students receive at least 30 hours of classroom instruction; 
2. Students receive at least 6 hours (or the equivalent) of behind-the-wheel (BTW) 

instruction; 
3. The class and BTW is taught by a certified teacher with a driver education 

endorsement; and 
4. The principal or superintendent verifies the school information. 

 
Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS) 28-3174 requires, in part, that minors interested in receiving a 
class G driver license must successfully complete an approved driver education program or 
have a parent or guardian certify that they received 30 hours of supervised driving practice with 
at least 10 of those at night.  High school driver education programs approved by the ADE are 
approved programs under this law. 
 
The Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division (MVD), allows driver 
education teachers in participating schools to issue Certificates of Completion to their students 
who successfully complete the course.  MVD waives the BTW portion of the driver’s license test 
for students with Certificates of Completion, although they reserve the right to administer tests 
to any applicant if the field station representatives believe doing so would be in the best interest 
of public safety.  More information about the Certificates of Completion is available by calling 
MVD Driver Services at (602) 712-7173.  Driver License Manuals may be requested through the 
MVD at the same number, or viewed/printed online at www.dot.state.az.us/MVD/index.asp. 
 
Information on driver education endorsements can be found at 
www.ade.az.gov/certification/requirements.  Currently there are no Arizona universities or 
colleges offering the coursework needed to obtain an endorsement.  We are working with ADE 
Certification to determine appropriate coursework offered by other entities.  Any school having 
difficulty finding teachers with a driver education endorsement may choose to not participate in 
the ADE program if approved by your district.  If you have questions regarding the driver 
education application, please contact Tori Havins at (602) 542-8720 or 
Victoria.Havins@azed.gov.  Thank you for your efforts to ensure the safety and well-being of 
our students. 
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