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COVID-19 Special Education Reentry Q & A 
 

This document is based on current guidance from federal and state agencies. For public 
education agency (PEA)-specific questions, please consult your entity’s legal counsel for 
advice.   
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Child Find 

Q: What are the hearing and vision requirements for child find (45-day screenings)? (Posted 
8/14/20) 

A: Per A.A.C. R7-2-401.D.6, screening procedures shall include vision and hearing status and 
consideration of the following areas: cognitive or academic, communication, motor, social or 
behavioral, and adaptive development. Screening does not include detailed, individualized, 
comprehensive evaluation procedures. The Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) 
has additional hearing and vision requirements with which public schools must comply. PEAs 
often confuse hearing and vision screenings to be required as part of child find with those 
required by the ADHS – note that these requirements are different and ESS can only speak to 
child find hearing and vision screening requirements. 

Q: When does the 45-day screening timeline begin for students newly enrolled in the 2020–
2021 school year? (Posted 7/30/20) 
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A: The screening timeline begins 45 calendar days after a student’s date of entry into school, 
whether virtual or in-person, in accordance with the attending school calendar, which must 
begin no later than August 17, 2020. 

Q: When there is a concern noted on a 45-day screening, what additional requirements does 
the PEA have? (Posted 7/30/20)  

A: Whenever a concern is noted in any area, the PEA must document all follow-up per its 
board-approved child find policy. This is further outlined in Arizona Administrative Code (AAC) 
R7-2-401 D.8. 

Q:  For an initial evaluation, if assessments are needed, how do we conduct these? (Updated 
7/22/20) 

A: Evaluation requirements have not been waived regardless of how instruction is being 
delivered to students. ADE/ESS cannot indicate what is medically safe for a family or for 
specific students. If an IEP team determines assessments are needed, they should be 
provided in accordance with the most up-to-date CDC guidance. Additionally, assessment 
administration guides should be consulted for participation types allowing for valid results.  

Q:  If a parent contacts the school/PEA with a concern regarding a possible developmental 
delay or other concern(s) they have regarding their child do I have to conduct a 45- day 
screening during the school closure? (including preschool aged and home school children) 
(Posted 3/26/20) 

A: The PEA is obligated to complete a 45-day screening to address the parent’s concern(s) in 
accordance with Arizona Administrative Code included below.  Alternative means of 
completing screenings may be used where appropriate.   

A.A.C. R7-2-401.D.5 and 6 

5. Identification (screening for possible disabilities) shall be completed within 45 calendar days 
after: 

a. Entry of each preschool or kindergarten student and any student enrolling without 
appropriate records of screening, evaluation, and progress in school; or  

b. Notification to the public education agency by parents of concerns regarding developmental 
or educational progress by their child aged 3 years through 21 years. 

 6. Screening procedures shall include vision and hearing status and consideration of the 
following areas: cognitive or academic, communication, motor, social or behavioral, and 
adaptive development. Screening does not include detailed individualized comprehensive 
evaluation procedures. 

Q:  Do we still need to complete/conduct 45-day screenings for any new students? (Posted 
3/24/20) 

https://azsbe.az.gov/sites/default/files/media/R7-2-401_Oct%2023%20As%20Adopted%20by%20Board_0.pdf
https://azsbe.az.gov/sites/default/files/media/R7-2-401_Oct%2023%20As%20Adopted%20by%20Board_0.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/schools-childcare/index.html
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A: Timelines cannot be changed. If school is occurring, virtually or otherwise, these will need 
to be completed in accordance with the required timeline, including any necessary follow up.  

Compensatory Educational Services 

Q: Based on guidance that acknowledged that the quality of FAPE was impacted when all 
instruction went virtual [or distance learning] during the fourth quarter of 2019–2020, how can 
an IEP Team continue to allow a student to receive his/her related services, at the very least, 
virtually without risking additional compensatory services? (Posted 7/30/20) 

A: If it is determined that a student can only be provided a FAPE through in-person services, 
pursuant to EO 2020-51, the student may be eligible to receive on-campus, in-person 
instruction, as required, to provide a FAPE. If in-person instruction is not safe or feasible, then 
a FAPE should be provided to the greatest extent possible. Compensatory services may have 
to be determined for individual students if the PEA is unable to provide a FAPE. Please see 
additional questions and answers regarding parent refusal to have the child attend in-person, 
on-campus instruction or refusal to participate in online learning.  

Q: Who determines if an 8th grade student moving on to a high school district should receive 
an offer of compensatory educational services?  (Posted 5/5/20) 

A: The provision of compensatory educational services is an equitable remedy that is 
appropriate when a PEA either failed or was unable to provide an enrolled student with a 
disability a FAPE. It would fall to the PEA in which the student was enrolled at the time of the 
failure or inability to provide a FAPE to make a determination as to whether or not 
compensatory educational services must be provided to the student and to deliver those 
services as appropriate.   

Q: A student received the same educational opportunities as all other students in the school. 
Data shows that s/he did not regress more than any other student. Does s/he need to be 
offered compensatory education? (Posted 5/5/20) 

A: In making an individualized determination as to whether a student is owed compensatory 
educational services, schools should consider a variety of factors, including, but not limited 
to: services provided during the period of school closure, ability of the student to access any 
services provided during the period of school closure, regression in skills, progress or lack of 
progress made on IEP goals, and parental input. It would be inappropriate to determine 
compensatory education based solely upon a comparative analysis of regression between 
individual students who may or may not be similarly situated. 

Q: If the PEA individualized the special education student’s instruction toward his/her goals 
and offered related services, is the PEA responsible to offer compensatory services? (Posted 
5/5/20)   

A: Not all students will need to be provided with compensatory educational services. However, 
it is acknowledged that despite best intentions, efforts, and creative solutions, there are some 
students who will not receive a FAPE over the course of the school closure. Therefore, PEAs 
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will need to make individual determinations as to whether compensatory educational services 
will be owed due to the PEA’s failure or inability to provide a FAPE.    

Q: Can a PEA offer compensatory educational services beginning this summer? (Posted 
5/5/20) 

A: Yes, if it is allowable and safe to do so based upon executive order and federal, state, and 
local health and safety guidelines and protocols.  

Q: Can a PEA provide compensatory educational services after the normal school day? 
(Posted 5/5/20) 

A: Yes. Compensatory educational services may be provided during the regular school day; 
over school breaks; in intensive, targeted, individualized programs; or by outside service 
providers. If compensatory educational services are to be provided during the school day, the 
student’s least restrictive environment cannot be altered due to the provision of the 
compensatory educational services. Because the provision of compensatory educational 
services is an equitable remedy, PEAs are encouraged to be creative in designing a plan to 
deliver compensatory educational services that meets the needs of the individual student in 
remedying the failure or inability of the PEA to provide a FAPE. 

Q: Is a PEA responsible to consider the provision of compensatory educational services if a 
student is newly enrolled (start of next year) and was not in the district during the time of 
closure? (Posted 5/5/20) 

A: No. The provision of compensatory educational services is an equitable remedy that is 
appropriate when a PEA either failed or was unable to provide an enrolled student with a 
disability a FAPE. Compensatory services provision falls to the PEA in which the student was 
enrolled at the time of the failure or inability to provide a FAPE to make a determination as to 
whether or not compensatory educational services need to be provided to the student and to 
deliver those services as appropriate.   

Q: Can a PEA provide compensation education throughout the school day during times a 
student is not already receiving special education services? (Posted 5/5/20) 

A: Compensatory educational services may be provided during the regular school day; over 
school breaks; in intensive, targeted, individualized programs; or by outside service providers. 
If compensatory educational services are to be provided during the school day, the 
student’s least restrictive environment, as documented in the IEP, cannot be altered due 
to the provision of the compensatory educational services.  Because the provision of 
compensatory educational services is an equitable remedy, PEAs are encouraged to be 
creative in designing a plan to deliver compensatory educational services that meets the needs 
of the individual student in remedying the failure or inability of the PEA to provide a FAPE.  

Q: If a PEA made special education services available, but the parent chose not to have his or 
her child participate, what is the PEA’s obligation for compensatory services? (Posted 5/5/20) 
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A: Determination of the need for compensatory educational services is made on an individual 
student basis.  PEAs are advised to document all efforts to provide a FAPE to students during 
the period of school closure as well as document parent and student contact and 
communication. Please consult your legal counsel for the best way to proceed in this specific 
circumstance.  

Q: How is the PEA required to document the provision of compensatory services? (Posted 
5/5/20) 

A: PEAs may develop documentation policies regarding the provision of compensatory 
educational services and at this time, ADE/ESS does not have any suggested format. 
Determinations of the need for compensatory educational services are not an item that is 
included in a file review/monitoring and is not utilized for any federal reporting requirements. 
Prior written notices may also be used to document an offer of compensatory educational 
services or the determination that compensatory educational services are not required. 

Q: If parents have requested the full IEP team to be part of a compensatory education 
determination, should the PEA use an IEP meeting as the vehicle to make this determination? 
(Posted 5/5/20) 

A: Nothing in the IDEA prevents an IEP team from making a determination of the need for 
compensatory educational services.  

Q: Is there a timeline of when compensatory services must be completed? (Posted 5/5/20)  

A: At this time, there is not a timeline established by which compensatory educational services 
must be completed. The compensatory educational services delivery should be individualized 
and meet the unique needs of the student. If compensatory educational services are needed, 
parental input should be sought when developing the compensatory educational services plan.  

Q: When looking at the student's compensatory needs, can the school differentiate between 
needs resulting from the school’s inability to provide the IEP services and needs the student 
may have developed because of the pandemic? (Posted 5/5/20) 

A: If a student’s educational, social-emotional, or behavioral needs have changed to the degree 
that the student’s ongoing services or supports are no longer sufficient to provide a FAPE, the 
student’s IEP team should meet to determine if the current IEP requires revision to reflect the 
student’s current needs (i.e., a student who did not have behaviors that impeded learning when 
school closed has now developed behaviors that impede his progress or a child has become 
markedly more anxious or depressed or has lost core academic skills previously learned). This 
is not the same as, or a substitute for, compensatory educational services nor will it be necessary 
in all cases.   

 
Q: Who should be part of the decision-making regarding compensatory services besides the 
parent? (Posted 5/5/20)   
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A: PEAs will need to decide who is responsible for determining the need for compensatory 
educational services. Nothing in the IDEA requires a specific individual to make or be involved 
in the determination.  

Q: Do compensatory services have to be provided by a special education teacher? (Posted 
5/5/20) 

A: No. Compensatory educational services are not a contractual remedy but an equitable 
remedy. Compensatory educational services should be determined by looking at the totality of 
the circumstances for each student and determining the amount and type of service needed to 
remedy the educational deficits resulting from a failure to provide a FAPE. Schools have 
flexibility and can be creative in fashioning compensatory education offers. 

 

Q: If a public education agency (PEA) provided some services during the school closure, or 
only enrichment opportunities, must it assess the needs of individual students for 
compensatory education?  (Posted 4/30/20) 

A: Yes. During the period of school closure related to COVID-19, emergency remote learning is 
being provided to all students as outlined in HB2910 and the Governor’s executive orders. Per 
state and federal guidance and implementing regulations, PEAs are required to provide 
equitable access to general education opportunities and continue to provide a free and 
appropriate education (FAPE) to students with disabilities to the maximum extent possible.  It is 
acknowledged, that despite best intentions, efforts and creative solutions, there are some 
students who will not receive a FAPE over the course of the school closure. Therefore, PEAs 
will need to make individual determinations, for each student, as to whether compensatory 
educational services will be owed due to the PEAs failure or inability to provide a FAPE.    

Q: Why must compensatory educational services be considered if the PEA provided some 
educational opportunities to students with disabilities?  (Posted 4/30/20)   

A: Compensatory educational services are not expressly defined in the IDEA; however, courts 
[under the authority granted them in 20 U.S.C. § 1415(i)(2)(C)(iii) and 34 C.F.R. § 300.516(c)(3)] 
have long awarded compensatory educational services as an appropriate remedy under the 
IDEA when a student has been denied a FAPE.  In the present circumstances, the purpose of 
compensatory services is to remedy the PEA’s failure or inability to provide a child with a 
disability with appropriate services during the time that the child is (or was) entitled to a free 
appropriate public education.  

Q: Does a PEA have to provide the same amount (minute for minute) of service time missed 
from the IEP as compensatory educational services?  (Posted 4/30/20)  

A: No. Compensatory educational services are not a contractual remedy, but an equitable 
remedy. It is designed to ensure that the student is appropriately educated within the meaning 
of the IDEA and as such "[t]here is no obligation to provide day-for-day or minute for minute 
compensation for time missed." See Parents of Student W. v. Puyallup Sch. Dist., 31 F.3d 1489, 

https://law.justia.com/cases/federal/appellate-courts/F3/35/1396/604947/
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1496-97 (9th Cir.1994). Compensatory educational services should be determined by looking at 
the totality of the circumstances for each student and determining the amount of service needed 
to remedy the educational deficits resulting from a failure to provide a FAPE.   

Q: How should a PEA determine whether a student with a disability should receive 
compensatory education services?  (Posted 4/30/20)  

A: Compensatory educational services should be determined by looking at the totality of the 
circumstances for each student, including parental input, and determining the amount of service, 
if any, needed to remedy the educational deficits resulting from a failure or inability to provide a 
FAPE.  A formal IEP meeting is not required to make a determination of the need for, the amount 
or delivery of compensatory educational services.  However, in looking at the totality of the 
circumstances, parental input should be solicited and considered.  It is then incumbent upon the 
PEA to make an offer of compensatory educational services when the determination has been 
made that an individual student was not provided with, or the PEA was unable to provide services 
during the period of school closure that would constitute a FAPE for that student.  

In determining whether a FAPE was provided during the time of school closure, the best source 
of data may be 4th quarter progress reports as this data is most likely to capture student 
performance during the closure itself.  If 4th quarter progress reporting is not available, nothing 
in this guidance would prohibit a PEA from collecting data to assess the need for compensatory 
educational services during the summer break if it was safe and feasible to do so.  In any event, 
it is recommended that PEAs collect data and solicit parental input no later than 30 school days 
of students returning to the school campus, to determine the need for compensatory services.   

In making an individualized determination as to whether a student is owed compensatory 
educational services, schools should consider a variety of factors, including but not limited to; 
services provided during the period of school closure, ability of the student to access any 
services provided during the period of school closure, regression in skills, progress or lack of 
progress made on IEP goals, and parental input.    

Q: How should a PEA determine the amount of compensatory educational service time that is 
needed?  (Posted 4/30/20) 

A: In making an individualized determination as to whether a student is owed compensatory 
educational services, schools should consider a variety of factors, including but not limited to; 
services provided during the period of school closure, ability of the student to access any 
services provided during the period of school closure, regression in skills, progress or lack of 
progress made on IEP goals, and parental input.    

Compensatory educational services should be offered that will allow the student to continue to 
make progress in the general education setting, or to progress at an appropriate pace in light of 
the child’s circumstances, once students may safely return to the school campus.  

Q: Must parents be involved in the determination of compensatory educational service 
provision?  (Posted 4/30/20) 

https://law.justia.com/cases/federal/appellate-courts/F3/35/1396/604947/
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A: Yes. PEAs should solicit and consider parental input to determine whether compensatory 
educational services are needed and if necessary, how those services will be delivered.  

Q: Can a PEA offer all students summer school as compensatory educational services?  
(Posted 4/30/20) 

A: No. PEAs must ensure that individualized determinations are made related to the extent to 
which a student may require compensatory services. Schools should not create blanket rules 
offering a set amount of compensatory services to all students, or to subsets of students with 
disabilities, when they return to school campuses. In order to provide a FAPE, schools have an 
obligation to consider compensatory education for each student with a disability without the need 
for parents or guardians to file a state administrative complaint or a due process request for 
hearing.  

Q: Must all students with disabilities be provided with compensatory educational services?  
(Posted 4/30/20) 

A: No. PEAs must ensure that individualized determinations are made related to the extent to 
which a student may require compensatory educational services. In the present circumstances 
the purpose of compensatory educational services is to remedy the PEA’s failure or inability to 
provide a student with a disability a FAPE during the time that the child is (or was) entitled to a 
FAPE. 

Q: If a parent refused the IEP services provided by the PEA in an alternative format during the 
period of school closure, must the PEA determine whether the student should receive 
compensatory educational services when the student did not participate or attend the 
services available?  (Posted 4/30/20) 

A: PEAs are advised to document all efforts to provide a FAPE to students during the period of 
school closure as well as document parent and student contact and communication.  Please 
consult your legal counsel for the best way to proceed in this specific circumstance.  

Q: Can parents refuse compensatory services?  (Posted 4/30/20) 

A: Yes, parents can refuse an offer of compensatory educational services.  It is recommended 
that PEAs document parental input in the determination of the need for compensatory 
educational services and the proposed plan to provide the services, as well as the parent’s 
refusal of the services offered. Prior written notice may be sent to document an offer of 
compensatory educational services and the parent’s refusal. If a parent refuses the offer, the 
PEA has met its obligation by making the compensatory educational services available.  

Q: If a parent refuses an offer of compensatory educational services, does the PEA have any 
further obligation?  (Posted 4/30/20) 

A: Once the PEA has made the offer of individualized compensatory educational services, the 
parent should make the student available to receive the services offered. If a parent refuses the 
offer, the PEA has met its obligation by making the compensatory educational services available. 



 
 

Updated 2/25/21 
 

It is recommended that PEAs document parental input in the determination of the need for 
compensatory educational services and the proposed plan to provide the services as well as the 
parent’s refusal.  This may be done through a prior written notice.  

Q: Can the service minutes provided in the current IEP be reduced, if compensatory 
educational services are offered, to account for additional service time provided as 
compensatory educational services?  (Posted 4/30/20)    

A: No. Compensatory educational services cannot interfere with the services the student is to 
receive under a current IEP.  Compensatory services must be provided in addition to the 
services implemented in a current IEP.  The delivery of the compensatory educational services 
cannot change the student’s least restrictive environment.  

Q: Must an IEP meeting be held once school resumes if a student’s needs have changed as 
the result of the school closure?  (Posted 4/30/20) 

A: If a student’s educational, social/emotional or behavioral needs have changed to the degree 
that the student’s ongoing services or supports are no longer sufficient to provide a FAPE, the 
student’s IEP team should meet to determine if the current IEP requires revision to reflect the 
student’s current needs. (i.e. a student who did not have behaviors that impeded learning when 
school closed has now developed behaviors that impede his progress or a child has become 
markedly more anxious or depressed or has lost core academic skills previously learned). This 
is not the same as, or a substitute for, compensatory educational services nor will it be necessary 
in all cases.   

Q: When can compensatory educational services be provided?  (Posted 4/30/20) 

A: Compensatory educational services may be provided during the regular school day, over 
school breaks, in intensive targeted, individualized programs, or by outside service providers. If 
compensatory educational services are to be provided during the school day, the student’s least 
restrictive environment cannot be altered due to the provision of the compensatory educational 
services.  Because the provision of compensatory educational services is an equitable remedy, 
PEAs are encouraged to be creative in designing a plan to deliver compensatory educational 
services that meets the needs of the individual student in remedying the failure or inability of the 
PEA to provide a FAPE.   

Q: Must an IEP meeting be held to determine the need for compensatory educational 
services?  (Posted 4/30/20) 

A: No. IEP teams do not have to meet to determine if a student requires compensatory services, 
however parental input should be solicited and considered when determining the need for 
compensatory educational services and how the compensatory educational services will be 
provided.  

Q: Can a PEA provide ESY to all students instead of offering compensatory educational 
services?  (Posted 4/30/20) 
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A: No. Compensatory services should not be confused with extended school year services 
(ESY). ESY is designed to maintain skills over school breaks and prevent degradation of skills 
that will not be recouped within a reasonable time once school has resumed. The determination 
of the need for ESY services is a separate determination made in a student’s IEP meeting. 

Compensatory educational services are delivered when the PEA has failed or was unable to 
provide a FAPE to a student.  In the current circumstance the failure or inability to provide a 
FAPE was due to school closure related to the COVID-19 pandemic.  

Q: What happens if a PEA does not have the time, forgets, or fails for any reason, to make 
individualized determinations of the need for compensatory educational services to the 
students it serves?  (Posted 4/30/20) 

A: Parents retain their procedural safeguards and may file a state administrative complaint or 
file for a request for a due process hearing if their child is denied a free and appropriate public 
education, including the failure or inability of the PEA to provide a FAPE to the student during 
the time of an extended closure.  However, it is not advised that PEAs wait until a parent submits 
a state administrative complaint or files a request for a due process hearing as this may further 
delay the provision of a FAPE and result in the need for additional compensatory educational 
services.  

Q: What happens if a parent disagrees with the PEA’s offer of compensatory educational 
services?  (Posted 4/30/20) 

A: Parents retain their procedural safeguards in the event their child has been denied a FAPE.  
Parental rights under the IDEA have not been waived.  Additionally, it is recommended that an 
alternative dispute resolution process such as mediation be used to resolve disagreements 
related to the need for compensatory educational services or the amount of compensatory 
educational services offered.   

Q: What obligation does a PEA have to a student who was enrolled during school closure but 
has since withdrawn from school?  (Posted 4/30/20) 

A: The provision of compensatory educational services is an equitable remedy that is 
appropriate when a PEA either failed or was unable to provide an enrolled student with a 
disability a FAPE. It would fall to the PEA in which the student was enrolled at the time of the 
failure or inability to provide a FAPE to make a determination as to whether or not compensatory 
educational services need to be provided to the student and to deliver those services as 
appropriate.   

Q: What obligation does the PEA have to a student with a disability who was enrolled at the 
time of the school closure but graduated or “aged out” before students return to campus for 
the 2020/2021 school year.  (Posted 4/30/20) 

A: The provision of compensatory educational services is an equitable remedy that is 
appropriate when a PEA either failed or was unable to provide an enrolled student with a 
disability a FAPE. It would fall to the PEA in which the student was enrolled at the time of the 



 
 

Updated 2/25/21 
 

failure or inability to provide a FAPE to make a determination as to whether or not compensatory 
educational services need to be provided to the student and to deliver those services as 
appropriate.  School districts have flexibility and can be creative in fashioning compensatory 
educational services offers and the unique needs of the student should be considered. However, 
please consult with your legal counsel for advice related to specific factual circumstances.  

Q: If a parent refused services that were provided during the period of school closure, must 
the PEA make a determination as to the need for compensatory educational services or make 
an offer of compensatory educational services?  (Posted 4/30/20) 

A: It is strongly recommended that PEAs document attempts to provide services that were 
accessible to the students, through alternative or virtual formats, and to record contact and 
communications with parents and students.  Because the compensatory educational services 
framework is founded on the failure or inability of the PEA to provide a FAPE, a parent’s 
refusal of services may excuse the PEA of its obligation to consider compensatory educational 
services.  However, please consult with your legal counsel for advice related to specific factual 
circumstances. 

Early Childhood 

Q:  Must a PEA provide in-person services for preschool children with disabilities? (Posted 
8/6/20) 

A: It depends. IEP team decisions regarding what constitutes a FAPE are determined based 
on the student’s needs as outlined in the IEP and not by the model of preferred instruction, 
either by the school or the parent.  

Q: If a student currently receives FAPE in a community education preschool program, must 
they be provided in-person services? (Posted 8/6/20)  

A: It depends. IEP team decisions regarding what constitutes a FAPE are determined based 
on the student’s needs as outlined in the IEP and not by the model of preferred instruction, 
either by the school or the parent.  

Q: If in-person preschool is offered and a parent refuses to send his or her child, what is the 
PEA’s obligation? (Posted 8/6/20)  

A: If FAPE cannot be provided in a virtual/online format, the IEP team can determine that in-
person instruction is necessary to provide a FAPE. If the PEA stands ready, willing, and able to 
provide a FAPE to the student, then the PEA has no further obligation. PEAs are encouraged 
to consult their legal counsel to resolve questions related to specific students and cases. 

Q. Is there funding if preschool special education services are provided virtually during the 
period of building closures? (Posted 8/6/20)  
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A: Yes. Preschool special education services that are provided virtually during the period of 
building closures can be funded through the DLP funding model. However, online/virtual 
preschool services must provide a student with a FAPE. IEP team decisions regarding what 
constitutes a FAPE are determined based on the student’s needs as outlined in the IEP and 
not by the model of preferred instruction, either by the school or the parent. It should be noted 
that regular early childhood programs are already being provided in person at this time. If an 
inclusive environment is required by a child’s IEP in order to provide a FAPE, the ability to 
provide an inclusive environment should be considered when determining whether a child 
should receive services virtually or in person. 

Q. Is there funding if preschool special education services are provided virtually for the 
entirety of the school year because a parent wants an online platform? (Posted 8/6/20) 

A: Yes. Preschool special education services that are provided virtually during the time in 
which the Governor’s EO 2020-51 is in effect can be funded through the DLP funding model. 
However, online/virtual preschool services must provide a student with a FAPE. It should be 
noted that regular early childhood programs are already being provided in person at this time. 
If an inclusive environment is required by a child’s IEP in order to provide a FAPE, the ability to 
provide an inclusive environment should be considered when determining whether a child 
should receive services virtually or in person.  

Q. What is the AzEDS reporting expectation for preschool students with disabilities attending 
in person and/or virtually? (Posted 8/6/20) 

A: Attendance for preschool students with disabilities must be recorded and reported 
accurately into AzEDS for every day of participation, regardless of whether attendance is in 
person or virtual. Please contact ADE School Finance for additional guidance regarding this 
topic. 

Q. If districts offer an online option for preschool students with disabilities, what is the 
minute/day commitment for funding? (Posted 8/6/20) 

A: The minute/day commitment for funding is outlined in A.R.S. § 15-901(A)(1)(a), which 
provides that a fractional student includes “a preschool child who is enrolled in a program for 
preschool children with disabilities of at least three hundred sixty minutes each week that 
meets at least two hundred sixteen hours over the minimum number of days. . . ” ADE expects 
minutes to be reported every day in a week that a calendar is submitted for preschool students 
with disabilities. 

 

Q: Will a preschool student’s LRE change if they are provided services in person but, due to 
health concerns, without typical peers present? (Posted 8/6/20)  

https://www.azed.gov/finance/contact/
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A: It depends. IEP team decisions regarding what constitutes a FAPE are determined based 
on the student’s needs as outlined in the IEP and not by the model of preferred instruction, 
either by the school or the parent. It should be noted that regular early childhood programs are 
already being provided in person at this time. If an inclusive environment is required by a 
child’s IEP in order to provide a FAPE, the ability to provide an inclusive environment should 
be considered when determining whether a child should receive services virtually or in person. 

Q: Following EO 2020-51, dated 07/23/2020, are PEAs allowed to operate in-person/on-campus 
preschool for students with disabilities prior to August 17? (Posted 7/30/20) 

A: Yes. Per EO 2020-51, developmental preschools, which provide services to children with 
disabilities, may provide services in-person, consistent with CDC and ADHS public health 
recommendations. Preschool children with disabilities whose free appropriate public education 
(FAPE) needs, as determined by individualized education program (IEP) teams, require in-
person support must be provided specially designed instruction as soon as the child has 
entered school, in accordance with the attending school calendar, which must begin no later 
than August 17, 2020. Services must be provided in accordance with the CDC and DHS public 
health recommendations. 

Q: Can PEAs offer online/virtual preschool options even when in-person is allowed? (Posted 
7/30/20)  

A: Yes, but only if online/virtual preschool services can provide a student with a FAPE. IEP team 
decisions regarding what constitutes a FAPE are determined based on the student’s needs as 
outlined in the IEP and not by the model of preferred instruction, either by the school or the 
parent. PEAs are urged to research effective practices for preschool instruction and specially 
designed instruction prior to implementing this type of model as implementation of ineffective 
strategies may lead to failure to provide a FAPE. 

 

Q: Is there any exception to the in-by-3 timeline? (Updated 4/29/20) 

A: Per OSEP guidance, there are no exceptions to timelines at this time. There is currently a 
waiver under consideration by congress that may be forthcoming and may adjust or remove 
this timeline. You can view the Secretary of Education’s request. 

Executive Order EO 2020-44 dated June 29, 2020 

Q: If a PEA has decided to move to a shorter school week (4 days from 5 days) does the 
student’s IEP have to be addended? (Posted 7/22/20) 

A: It depends.  Students need to be provided FAPE in accordance with their IEP.  If the 
student’s IEP is not reasonably calculated to provide a FAPE, given the change in school 
calendar, an adjustment to the IEP may be needed.   

Q: Given that PEAs may begin school in accordance with their school calendars virtually, how 
does this impact initial evaluation timelines? (Posted 7/22/20)  

https://www2.ed.gov/documents/coronavirus/cares-waiver-report.pdf
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A: It doesn’t.  IDEA and Arizona State Board Rule require initial evaluations to be completed 
within 60 calendar days of parental consent.  There are no waivers to this requirement from 
Congress. 

Executive Order EO 2020-51 dated July 23, 2020 

Q: Are PEAs required to hold an IEP meeting for every student prior to the beginning of 
school? (Posted 7/31/20) 

A: No. An IEP meeting is not required prior to the start of school and the guidance in the Hot 
Topic is not intended to imply differently. 

If the student’s current IEP continues to provide the student a FAPE, a review/revision would 
not be necessary outside of the annual review requirement. The method/mode of instruction is 
not required to be included in the IEP unless the failure to provide the methodology would 
prevent a FAPE being delivered to the student. IEP meetings would only be necessary for 
those students whose needs have changed. If the current IEP can be substantially 
implemented and services delivered in either a distance learning or in-person environment, 
then an IEP meeting would not be required. Please see the Considerations for Determining the 
Need for an IEP Meeting Tool and the Virtual Remote Learning Considerations Tool posted on 
the ESS SY 2020-2021 School Reentry webpage for additional suggestions on how to 
determine the need for an IEP meeting 

Q: What if a parent refuses to meet to conduct the annual IEP review? (Posted 7/31/20) 

A: No waivers to the IDEA have been granted, therefore IEP meetings must be held in 
accordance with federal regulations. Per IDEA 300.322, each public agency must take steps to 
ensure that one or both parents of a child with a disability are present at each IEP Team 
meeting or are afforded the opportunity to participate. If neither parent can attend an IEP Team 
meeting, the public agency must use other methods to ensure parent participation, including 
individual or conference telephone calls, consistent with §300.328. A meeting may be 
conducted without a parent in attendance if the public agency is unable to convince the 
parents that they should attend. In this case, the public agency must keep a record of its 
attempts to arrange a mutually agreed time and place. Alternate attempts to communicate 
and/or meet to discuss special education needs can be made virtually or by phone. 

Q: If the provision of a FAPE to a child requires in-person services, but the parent refuses to 
bring the student to an in-person site, can the PEA offer services (to the extent possible) in a 
virtual setting? (Posted 7/31/20) 

A: Nothing prohibits the provision of virtual services and, in fact, they can be very beneficial to 
students. However, if the PEA stands ready, willing, and able to provide in-person services, 
then the PEA has satisfied the required offer of a provision of a FAPE. Please consult your 
legal counsel for advice in specific student or IEP situations. 

https://cms.azed.gov/home/GetDocumentFile?id=5f19a7b003e2b30d4430f34b
https://cms.azed.gov/home/GetDocumentFile?id=5f19a7b003e2b30d4430f34b
https://cms.azed.gov/home/GetDocumentFile?id=5f24aac303e2b3190cda0da7
https://www.azed.gov/specialeducation/special-education-guidance-for-covid-19-for-school-year-2020-2021-reentry/
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Q: Does EO 2020-51 dictate and/or limit the location of in-person special education service 
delivery options? (Posted 7/31/20) 

A: No. Services can be provided to students in any location where it is safe and feasible to do 
so. It is not required that special education services be delivered in the same space where 
supervised learning opportunities may be provided as outlined in EO 2020-51. PEAs are 
encouraged to be creative in how they design in-person special education delivery services. 

Q: How does a PEA allocate staffing resources to provide in-person services? (Posted 7/31/20) 

A: Unfortunately, ADE cannot provide guidance regarding human resources, employment, or 
staffing issues beyond providing professional development activities. Please reach out to your 
internal HR departments and/or consult with your colleagues or legal counsel about staffing 
solutions. 

Q: Will the ADE/ESS monitor PEA decisions to provide services to individual students in 
either a distance learning or in-person model? (Posted 7/31/20)  

A: No. ADE/ESS does not second guess PEA decisions related to the method of instruction for 
individual students and will not be monitoring the implementation of distance learning or in-
person learning. Parents who disagree with the provision of a FAPE for a student retain their 
procedural safeguards, and the process and procedure for exercising safeguards has not 
changed. 

Q: Can parents invoke procedural safeguards if the PEA does not believe that on-site 
instruction is necessary and if the parent believes it is? (Posted 7/31/20) 

A: Parents retain their procedural safeguards when they disagree with the identification, 
evaluation, placement, or provision of a FAPE to their child. PEAs should consult their legal 
counsel regarding student specific issues that may arise when determining the need for in 
person instruction and a FAPE.  

Q: Must the in-person support that is articulated in EO 2020-51 for students with disabilities be 
provided for the entire school day, every day? (Posted 7/31/20) 

A: No. The EO does not require full instructional days to resume in-person. If a student is 
unable to receive a FAPE in a distance learning/virtual environment and needs in-person 
services to be delivered to receive a FAPE, only those services would be required to be 
provided in an in-person environment. It is possible that a student would be learning in both 
virtual and in-person environments, dependent upon the needs of the student and upon the 
services outlined in the IEP. PEAs are encouraged to be creative in designing in-person 
instruction so that the safety of both students and staff remains a priority.  

Q: If a PEA has decided to begin online instruction for all students that continues beyond 
August 17, is the PEA still required to provide on-site services for students with disabilities, 
even if it is not providing in-person instruction for all students? (Posted 7/31/20) 
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A: Yes, under EO 2020-51, PEAs must develop a way to deliver in-person services to those 
students with disabilities who cannot be provided a FAPE in a virtual/distance learning 
environment. This may be separate from the space where supervised learning opportunities 
are being provided, as outlined in the EO. 

Q:  Must a PEA provide in-person services for preschool children with disabilities? (Posted 
8/6/20) 

A: It depends. IEP team decisions regarding what constitutes a FAPE are determined based 
on the student’s needs as outlined in the IEP and not by the model of preferred instruction, 
either by the school or the parent.  

Q: If a student currently receives FAPE in a community education preschool program, must 
they be provided in-person services? (Posted 8/6/20)  

A: It depends. IEP team decisions regarding what constitutes a FAPE are determined based 
on the student’s needs as outlined in the IEP and not by the model of preferred instruction, 
either by the school or the parent.  

Q: If in-person preschool is offered and a parent refuses to send his or her child, what is the 
PEA’s obligation? (Posted 8/6/20)  

A: If FAPE cannot be provided in a virtual/online format, the IEP team can determine that in-
person instruction is necessary to provide a FAPE. If the PEA stands ready, willing, and able to 
provide a FAPE to the student, then the PEA has no further obligation. PEAs are encouraged 
to consult their legal counsel to resolve questions related to specific students and cases. 

Q. Is there funding if preschool special education services are provided virtually during the 
period of building closures? (Posted 8/6/20)  

A: Yes. Preschool special education services that are provided virtually during the period of 
building closures can be funded through the DLP funding model. However, online/virtual 
preschool services must provide a student with a FAPE. IEP team decisions regarding what 
constitutes a FAPE are determined based on the student’s needs as outlined in the IEP and 
not by the model of preferred instruction, either by the school or the parent. It should be noted 
that regular early childhood programs are already being provided in person at this time. If an 
inclusive environment is required by a child’s IEP in order to provide a FAPE, the ability to 
provide an inclusive environment should be considered when determining whether a child 
should receive services virtually or in person. 

Q. Is there funding if preschool special education services are provided virtually for the 
entirety of the school year because a parent wants an online platform? (Posted 8/6/20) 
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A: Yes. Preschool special education services that are provided virtually during the time in 
which the Governor’s EO 2020-51 is in effect can be funded through the DLP funding model. 
However, online/virtual preschool services must provide a student with a FAPE. It should be 
noted that regular early childhood programs are already being provided in person at this time. 
If an inclusive environment is required by a child’s IEP in order to provide a FAPE, the ability to 
provide an inclusive environment should be considered when determining whether a child 
should receive services virtually or in person.  

Q. What is the AzEDS reporting expectation for preschool students with disabilities attending 
in person and/or virtually? (Posted 8/6/20) 

A: Attendance for preschool students with disabilities must be recorded and reported 
accurately into AzEDS for every day of participation, regardless of whether attendance is in 
person or virtual. Please contact ADE School Finance for additional guidance regarding this 
topic. 

Q. If districts offer an online option for preschool students with disabilities, what is the 
minute/day commitment for funding? (Posted 8/6/20) 

A: The minute/day commitment for funding is outlined in A.R.S. § 15-901(A)(1)(a), which 
provides that a fractional student includes “a preschool child who is enrolled in a program for 
preschool children with disabilities of at least three hundred sixty minutes each week that 
meets at least two hundred sixteen hours over the minimum number of days. . . ” ADE expects 
minutes to be reported every day in a week that a calendar is submitted for preschool students 
with disabilities. 

 

Q: Will a preschool student’s LRE change if they are provided services in person but, due to 
health concerns, without typical peers present? (Posted 8/6/20)  

A: It depends. IEP team decisions regarding what constitutes a FAPE are determined based 
on the student’s needs as outlined in the IEP and not by the model of preferred instruction, 
either by the school or the parent. It should be noted that regular early childhood programs are 
already being provided in person at this time. If an inclusive environment is required by a 
child’s IEP in order to provide a FAPE, the ability to provide an inclusive environment should 
be considered when determining whether a child should receive services virtually or in person. 

Evaluations 

All provisions of IDEA are still in effect regardless of how instruction is being delivered to students.  
All students with disabilities need to be afforded a FAPE as outlined in their IEP and in accordance 
with IDEA.  

Q: Are hearing and vision screenings required for evaluations and/or IEPs? (Posted 7/30/20)   

https://www.azed.gov/finance/contact/
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A: It depends. Per the IDEA, hearing and vision screenings are only required when there is a 
concern brought forward by a MET/IEP team member during the evaluation and/or IEP 
process. The Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) has additional hearing and vision 
requirements with which public schools must comply.  

Q: Are student observations a required as a part of the evaluation process? (Posted 7/30/20)  

A: It depends. Per the IDEA (300.305 a. 1. iii), observations from parents, teachers, and 
related providers should be considered as part of the review of existing data. Formal 
observations other than this may be required as part of professional practice. Practitioners 
should consult their local PEA policy on what additional requirements the PEA may have in 
place.  

Q: How should the MET address the consideration of educational disadvantage, given the 
impact of COVID-19 on all students? (Posted 7/30/20) 

A: METs should consider all potential impacts on student learning during the evaluation 
process. Because students with and without disabilities may have been impacted by a lack of 
instruction due to the prior school closure, it is unclear as to what impact, if any, this will have 
on eligibility determinations for individual students.   

Q: Can PEAs use data from RTI/MTSS as part of the review of existing data and potential 
eligibility determination? (Posted 7/30/20)  

A: Yes. METs should consider any and all information related to the student as part of the 
review of existing data and potential eligibility determination.  

 

Q: If a student who has transferred to a new school in the 2020-2021 school year (or 
matriculated to a union high school district) was in process of being evaluated and that 
evaluation was “paused” due to the school closure, which PEA is obligated to complete the 
evaluation? (Posted 7/23/20) 

A: It is important to know that evaluation procedures were not waived by Congress, and no 
exceptions were granted to PEAs regarding timelines under the prior closure. That said, both 
the sending and receiving PEAs have potential liability. The sending PEA’s responsibility is 
specific to meeting timelines and ensuring a complete evaluation as outlined in the IDEA. The 
receiving PEA is to ensure FAPE is provided and student needs are being met. ADE/ESS 
encourages PEAs to work together, and in collaboration with parents, to complete evaluations 
in a timely manner and ensure students are afforded a FAPE. (IDEA300.301) 

Q: If we have had the parents’ permission to evaluate and the 60-day timeline was started 
before the mandatory school closure, what is our obligation? What are we to do? (Updated 
7/22/20) 

https://www.azdhs.gov/documents/prevention/womens-childrens-health/ocshcn/hearing-vision-screening/sensory-program-update-04232020.pdf
https://www.azdhs.gov/documents/prevention/womens-childrens-health/ocshcn/hearing-vision-screening/sensory-program-update-04232020.pdf
https://www.azdhs.gov/prevention/womens-childrens-health/ocshcn/index.php#hearing-screening
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A: Timelines are still in place. Arizona allows for a 30 -day extension, so this is an available 
option.   Meetings can be held via alternative methods. See OSEP guidance.  See additional 
questions regarding transfer students for more information.  

Q:  If assessments are needed, how do we conduct these? (Updated 7/22/20) 

A: Evaluation requirements have not been waived regardless of how instruction is being 
delivered to students. ADE/ESS cannot indicate what is medically safe for a family or for 
specific students. If an IEP team determines assessments are needed, they should be 
provided in accordance with the most up-to-date CDC guidance. Additionally, assessment 
administration guides should be consulted for participation types allowing for valid results.  

Q:  Is the 30-day extension for an evaluation calendar days or school days? (Posted 4/8/20) 

A: The extension of the evaluation timeline, allowable under the Arizona Administrative Code, 
is 30 calendar days.   

Q:  Can a PEA have multiple 30-day extension? (Posted 4/8/20) 

A: Arizona Administrative Code states an additional 30-day extension can be agreed upon by 
the PEA and parents if it is in the best interest of the child. Only one 30-day extension is 
allowable by board rule.   

Fiscal/Data Management 

Q: Is there an LRE rubric that helps PEAs determine how to report LRE for students with 
disabilities? (Posted 07/30/20) 

A: Yes, reporting information can be found on the ESS Data Management web page under the 
accordion labeled Tools & Resources → AzEDS SPED Codes 

Q:  How will Maintenance of Effort be impacted?  What allowances can/will be made? (Updated 
7/30/20) 

A: Inquiries regarding flexibility or exceptions to Maintenance of Effort have already been 
forwarded to the Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP). ADE has no authority to waive 
the IDEA Maintenance of Effort testing requirements or grant waivers related to them. The only 
allowable exceptions that exist for Maintenance of Effort do not address situations such as the 
closure we are suddenly in. The federal government did issue guidance regarding ESEA 
Maintenance of Effort but has not provided clarity nor insight on IDEA Maintenance of Effort as 
it relates to COVID-19. The guidance that was issued by OSEP in the middle of June only 
reinforced the currently allowed exceptions or reductions that exist. 

The following exceptions exist, as outlined in 34 CFR § 300.204: 

a) The voluntary departure, by retirement or otherwise, or departure for just cause, of 
special education or related services personnel. 

b) A decrease in the enrollment of children with disabilities. 

https://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ocr/frontpage/faq/rr/policyguidance/Supple%20Fact%20Sheet%203.21.20%20FINAL.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/schools-childcare/index.html
https://www.azed.gov/specialeducation/data-management/azeds-sped-reporting/
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c) The termination of the obligation of the agency, consistent with this part, to provide a 
program of special education to a particular child with a disability that is an exceptionally 
costly program, as determined by the SEA, because the child - 
1) Has left the jurisdiction of the agency; 
2) Has reached the age at which the obligation of the agency to provide FAPE to the 

child has terminated; or 
3) No longer needs the program of special education. 

d) The termination of costly expenditures for long-term purchases, such as the acquisition 
of equipment or the construction of school facilities. 

e) The assumption of cost by the high cost fund operated by the SEA under § 300.704(c). 
These exceptions can be used regardless of the circumstances due to COVID-19. 

For further questions on this item, please email the ESS Program Management Unit. 

Q: Will LEAs be receiving any additional funds to help cover compensatory services? 
(Updated 7/30/20) 

A: Extra funding will be coming shortly through a compensatory education claim fund to 
provide additional relief on top of the federal IDEA Entitlement Funds. This information will be 
released in August 2020 and will be located on the SY 2020–2021 ESS School Reentry 
Webpage. 

Q:  Will there be additional funds to address costs during the closure? (Posted 3/31/20) 

A: There are no additional funds that have been established for extra services during the 
closure. State funding has been maintained and the federal funding under the IDEA 
Entitlement grant has some increased flexibility during the time of the closure. For example, 
the federal grant can pay for cancellations for events due to closure of venues during this time. 
Additionally, staff can continue to be paid even though school is closed because of the closure 
that has been mandated. 

Q: Can we pay out staff who are listed on the IDEA Entitlement grant during the mandatory 
closure? (Posted 4/14/20) 

A: The Office of Management and Budget (OMB) issued a memorandum (M-20-17) that 
provides administrative, financial management, and audit reporting relief for recipients and 
applicants of federal financial assistance directly impacted by COVID-19. Recipients may 
continue to charge salaries and benefits to currently active federal awards consistent with the 
recipients’ policy of paying salaries (under unexpected or extraordinary circumstances) from all 
funding sources. Recipients are required to maintain records and documentation to 
substantiate the cost, including reference to the recipients’ salary policy. 

Individualized Education Programs (IEPs) 

mailto:essprogmgmt@azed.gov?subject=Maintenance%20of%20Effort%20Question
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All provisions of IDEA are still in effect regardless of how instruction is being delivered to students.  
All students with disabilities need to be afforded a FAPE as outlined in their IEP and in accordance 
with IDEA.  

Q: If a student is attending school through an online platform, but the IEP team has 
determined that the student requires in-person services in order to be provided a FAPE, what 
is the PEA’s obligation? (Posted 8/14/20) 

A: If FAPE cannot be provided in a virtual/online format, members of the IEP team, including 
the parent, can determine that in-person instruction is necessary to provide a FAPE. IEP 
meetings are not necessary for every student, however any changes to the IEP should be 
appropriately documented. If it has been determined that in-person services are needed to 
ensure a FAPE, then the PEA would be obligated to make in person services available to meet 
the individual needs of the student. PEAs are encouraged to consult their legal counsel to 
resolve questions related to specific students and cases.  
 

Q: If it is written in the IEP that a student has support services (such as paraprofessional 
support or nursing services) that may not be able to be implemented in an online format, what 
is the PEA’s obligation? (Posted 8/14/20)  

A: Members of the IEP team, including the parent, can determine whether support services 
would still be required for that student to receive a FAPE. IEP meetings are not necessary for 
every student, however any changes to the IEP should be appropriately documented.  PEAs 
are encouraged to consult their legal counsel to resolve questions related to specific students 
and cases.  

Q:  Does the IDEA allow an IEP team to meet and revise the IEP to reduce a student’s service 
minutes based solely on the instructional methodology or staffing resources of the PEA? 
(Posted 8/14/20) 

A: No. IDEA requires that each student’s IEP be reviewed at least annually and revised as 
appropriate, based on the needs of the student. Students should be provided with the special 
education services outlined in their current IEPs. If it has been determined that in-person 
services are needed to ensure a FAPE, then the PEA should make in-person services 
available to meet the individual needs of the student. Reducing service minutes to fit a school-
specific need is inappropriate and may result in a parent exercising their procedural 
safeguards. Parents retain the right to exercise their procedural safeguards, including filing a 
state complaint, requesting mediation, filing a request for a due process hearing, or filing a 
complaint with the Office for Civil Rights if they disagree with the provision of a FAPE being 
offered to their child.  

Q: If any part of the IEP specifically (goals, accommodations, support services) is written for 
implementation in a brick-and-mortar setting, what is the PEA’s obligation? (Posted 8/14/20)  

A: Members of the IEP team, including the parent, must determine whether those items would 
still be required or if they ought to be amended in order for that student to receive a FAPE.  
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IEP meetings are not necessary for every student, however any changes to the IEP should be 
appropriately documented.  PEAs are encouraged to consult their legal counsel to resolve 
questions related to specific students and cases. 

Q: Should transportation be provided if it is determined that the student requires in-person 
services in order for the student to receive a FAPE? (Posted 8/14/20) 

A: Yes. If the IEP team determines that transportation, as a related service, is needed in order 
to provide a FAPE, then transportation must be provided. 

Q: Can a PEA require all students with disabilities to receive all services in person, regardless 
of whether their IEPs can be implemented in a virtual format? (Posted 8/14/20)  

A: No. The provision of a FAPE is based upon the individual needs of the student. Members of 
the IEP team, including the parent, should determine whether the student requires in-person 
instruction in order to receive a FAPE. If the IEP can be implemented virtually and a FAPE can 
be provided, then the option for the student to receive services virtually should remain 
available. Parents retain the right to exercise their procedural safeguards, including filing a 
state complaint, requesting mediation, filing a request for a due process hearing, or filing a 
complaint with the Office for Civil Rights if they disagree with the provision of a FAPE being 
offered to their student. 

Q: Can a PEA require all students with disabilities, regardless of individual needs, to receive 
all services virtually or through remote learning? (Posted 8/14/20)  

A: No. EO-2051 specifically requires PEAs to have an in-person option available for the 
delivery of special education services to those students who require in-person instruction in 
order to receive a FAPE. Determinations as to which students require in-person instruction in 
order to receive a FAPE should be individualized and be based upon the needs of the student 
and the services outlined in the IEP. Parents retain the right to exercise their procedural 
safeguards, including filing a state complaint, requesting mediation, filing a request for a due 
process hearing, or filing a complaint with the Office for Civil Rights if they disagree with the 
provision of a FAPE being offered to their student. 

Q: Should PEAs make universal decisions regarding how IEP services are implemented for all 
students with disabilities who may be participating in virtual instruction? (Posted 8/6/20) 

A: No. Provision of FAPE is made on an individualized basis, and student needs drive the 
development of the IEP. Thus, services should be implemented as written in each student’s 
IEP. 

Q: If a parent refuses in-person services, must the IEP team review and revise the student’s 
IEP? (Posted 8/6/20) 

A: The IEP team can determine that in-person instruction is necessary to provide a FAPE. If 
the PEA stands ready, willing, and able to provide a FAPE to the student, then the PEA has no 
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further obligation. Thus, there would be no need to review/revise or amend a student’s IEP. 
PEAs are encouraged to consult their legal counsel to resolve questions related to specific 
students and cases. 

Q: Is an addendum to an IEP necessary if the services, goals, etc. imply they will be 
implemented in a brick-and-mortar setting? (Posted 7/30/20) 

A: It depends. If the existing IEP cannot be implemented and/or does not afford the student a 
FAPE in a virtual setting, then the IEP may need to be amended or revised. The IEP may be 
amended by consent of the team members without the need for an IEP meeting or the IEP 
team may need to convene to revise the IEP as appropriate. 

Q: Can an IEP team determine a student needs to be schooled in-person, rather than virtually, 
in order to be afforded a FAPE? (Posted 7/30/20)   

A: Yes. If FAPE cannot be provided in a virtual/online format, the IEP team can determine that 
in-person instruction is necessary to provide a FAPE. If the PEA stands ready, willing, and able 
to provide a FAPE to the student, then the PEA has no further obligation. PEAs are 
encouraged to consult their legal counsel to resolve questions related to specific students and 
cases. 

Q: Can we do IEP meetings over the phone? (Updated 7/22/20) 

A: Yes, alternative participation for meetings is encouraged. 

Q:  Should IEP services be determined based on school schedule, staff availability, or other 
administrative concerns? (Updated 7/22/20) 

A: The services included in the IEP should address the needs of the individual student and be 
reasonably calculated to allow the child to make meaningful educational progress in light of the 
child’s circumstances.  Staffing and school schedules do not dictate the services the child 
requires.  

Q:  Does the PEA need to provide a student with AT (high and/or low tech) in their home for 
virtual educational opportunities? (Updated 7/22/20) 

A: Teams should determine whether the use of the student’s AT is necessary for the student to 
access the general education curriculum being provided by the school.  Teams should also 
consider the child’s language and communication needs, opportunities for direct 
communications with peers and professional personnel in the child’s language and 
communication mode, academic level, and the full range of needs, including opportunities for 
direct instruction in the child’s language and communication mode.   

If the student does not require AT for communication or to access the general curriculum, then 
it would not be necessary to provide AT in the student’s home. If AT is necessary in order for 
the student to access either the SDI or the general education curriculum, then the IEP team 
needs to ensure the student has access to the needed AT.  



 
 

Updated 2/25/21 
 

 
Q: Do progress reports require signatures? (Posted 5/5/20) 

A: The IDEA does not require that progress reports be signed. If the PEA has a policy that 
requires signatures on progress reports, please consult your school’s legal counsel or 
administration for further guidance. 

Masks 

Q:  Can we require all students to wear a mask or cloth face covering if they are attending 
school in person? (Posted 7/22/20) 

A: Rules for wearing masks are developed at the PEA level in compliance with county, city, 
and/or town ordinances as well as AZDHS and CDC guidance. Students with disabilities are 
still to be afforded reasonable accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act, and 
they are still entitled to receive a FAPE. PEAs should consult their legal counsel to determine 
the appropriateness and/or reasonableness of accommodation in a specific situation.  

Q: Are masks or cloth face coverings required if students with disabilities are being provided 
with on-campus or in-person instruction? (Posted 7/22/20) 

A: Rules for wearing masks are developed at the PEA level in compliance with county, city, 
and/or town ordinances as well as AZDHS and CDC guidance.  Students with disabilities are 
still to be afforded reasonable accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act, and 
they are still entitled to receive a FAPE. PEAs should consult their legal counsel to determine 
the appropriateness and/or reasonableness of accommodation in specific situations. 

The Arizona Department of Health Services offers the following: 

Schools and childcare facilities should encourage use of cloth face coverings when 
physical distancing cannot be maintained. Be sure to check for any local ordinances 
that may require cloth face coverings. Face coverings may be challenging to wear all 
day and are more important in times when physical distancing is difficult. Individuals 
should be frequently reminded not to touch the face covering and to wash their hands 
frequently. Ensure proper use of cloth face coverings by educating staff and children on 
the proper wearing and care of their face covering when it is taken off, such as while 
eating. 

Cloth face coverings should not be placed on: 

• Children younger than 2 years old 
• Anyone who has trouble breathing or is unconscious 
• Anyone who is unable to remove the cloth face covering without assistance 
• Anyone with severe cognitive or respiratory impairments 
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Q: Can a student with disabilities be denied access to on-campus, in-person instruction or 
transportation if he/she cannot currently comply with policy requiring masks or cloth face 
coverings? (Posted 7/22/20) 

A: Students with disabilities who have difficulty wearing a mask, or for whom wearing a mask 
is not advised by health experts, cannot be categorically denied enrollment or attendance on a 
school campus or denied access to transportation. Students with disabilities are still to be 
afforded reasonable accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act, and they are 
still entitled to receive a FAPE.  PEAs should consult their legal counsel to determine the 
appropriateness and/or reasonableness of accommodation in specific situations. 

Online/Virtual Instruction 

Q: Is there a difference between online and virtual instruction? (Posted 7/30/20)    

A: These terms are often interchangeable and essentially infer instruction is being provided 
using technology and not in a typical brick-and-mortar classroom. Both likely occur away from 
a school campus and encompass multiple methods of instructional delivery. 

Q: If a PEA is offering online instruction for all students, in accordance with the EO, and the 
parent refuses to allow their child to participate in the online instruction, what is the PEA’s 
obligation? (Posted 7/30/20)  

A: If the IEP team determined FAPE can be provided in a virtual/online format, then then the 
PEA can indicate that they stand ready and able to provide a FAPE to the student and the PEA 
has no further obligation. PEAs should consult their legal counsel to resolve individual student 
issues. Parents/guardians retain their procedural safeguards should they disagree with the 
decision of the IEP team. In the event this may impact attendance requirements, please 
consult the PEA board rules and policy related to student attendance and enrollment criteria 
set by the PEA.  

Q: What is Arizona Online Instruction (AOI)? (Posted 7/30/20) 

A: Arizona Revised Statute (ARS) 15-808 defines AOI and explains the requirements 
associated with an AOI.  

Q: If a student's IEP placement is an ADE-approved private day school, and the student was 
unenrolled from the private day school during the time of the emergency COVID closure and 
provided online/virtual learning by the placing PEA, does that student return to a private day 
school once the private day school resumes in-person instruction? (Posted 7/30/20) 

A: Yes. The student must be provided a FAPE as outlined in his/her IEP, including 
placement. Continued virtual/online learning is not equivalent to the in-person instruction 
provided by a private day school. If the student's needs have changed from the IEP that was 
current at the time of COVID closure, the IEP team must reconvene and develop an IEP that 
provides a FAPE with existing information. 

https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00808.htm
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Q: If the student is placed at an ADE-approved private day school, but the parent refuses to 
allow the student to attend, what is the PEA’s obligation for provision of FAPE? (Posted 
7/30/20) 

A: If FAPE cannot be provided in a virtual/online format then the IEP team can determine that 
in-person instruction is necessary to provide a FAPE. If the PEA stands ready, willing, and able 
to provide a FAPE to the student, then the PEA has no further obligation. PEAs are 
encouraged to consult their legal counsel to resolve questions related to specific students and 
cases. 

Q: If the student requires transportation to attend the private day school placement, 
and he/she cannot currently comply with any policy for transportation requiring masks or 
cloth face coverings, what is the PEAs obligation to provide FAPE? (Posted 7/30/20)  

A: Students with disabilities who have difficulty wearing a mask, or for whom wearing a mask 
is not advised by health experts, cannot be categorically denied enrollment or attendance on a 
school campus or denied access to transportation. Students with disabilities are still to be 
afforded reasonable accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act, and they are 
still entitled to receive a FAPE. PEAs should consult their legal counsel to determine the 
appropriateness and/or reasonableness of accommodation in specific situations. 

Private Day Schools 

Q: Can an ADE-approved private day school be open to provide services to IEP team placed 
students? (Posted 7/30/20) 

A: At this time, ADE private day school approvals for the 2020—2021 school year apply to 
entities that can provide in-person services after August 17, 2020. Private day sites approved 
for virtual placement before the August 17, 2020 date will be indicated with a special notation 
in the approval spreadsheet. Approvals are still taking place at this time. 

The only exceptions are compensatory services and extended school year services under 
certain circumstances. 

While the Executive Order prohibits classes from being convened on campus, it may be 
possible to provide in-person services, based upon the needs of the individual child, in a 
manner that is safe and feasible, adhering to all health and safety guidelines from the State 
and/or other local bodies, as well as the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). 
Please consult the legal counsel for your district/charter to determine how to implement your 
ESY program or compensatory educational service delivery plans if either requires a private 
day school. This information was provided on July 10, 2020. Service locations for the current 
year for compensatory services or extended school year can use the approval from the prior 
year as a stand-in at this time. 

While district and charter schools must have an in-person option available within the PEA for 
students, there is no requirement for private day schools. If private day schools choose to open 
for in-person classes after August 17, 2020, PEAs may have to seek alternative placements for 
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students who require in-person services to ensure that FAPE is provided adequately as 
determined by the IEP team. 

ESS does not normally approve virtual programs for private day schools, but since this 
scenario may potentially come up soon, ESS wanted to provide clarification ahead of time. 

Students Enrolled at Residential Treatment Centers on an Educational Voucher 

Q: Are PEAs required to submit documentation for students on an educational voucher at an 
RTC? (Updated 7/30/20) 

A: Yes, PEAs are required to complete an HSD Application as outlined in A.A.C. R7-2-404 
which states that “appropriate documentation of eligibility for special education and provision of 
services, if applicable, shall be included.” PEAs who fail to submit documentation run the risk 
of being responsible for the educational costs until they meet all the requirements outlined in 
the administrative code and A.R.S. 15-1183 (completing screening, identification procedures, 
and review of placement). For further questions regarding educational vouchers, PEAs should 
email the ESS Vouchers Unit.  

Telehealth 

Q: Can a student who is enrolled and virtually attending a PEA in Arizona continue to receive 
speech services online? (Posted 2/25/21) 

A: Yes. There is no Arizona statutory provision that would bar a properly credentialed Speech-
Language Technician (SLT) and Speech-Language Pathologist (SLP) from providing speech 
services via an online platform. For the provision of online services to a student enrolled in a 
PEA in Arizona, but temporarily located out of state, SLPs and SLTs should consult their 
licensing board and legal counsel to check for any licensing/credentialing implications. 

Q: Can a student who is enrolled and attending a PEA in Arizona virtually, but is temporarily 
outside of the state, receive speech services from a SLP in that state? (Posted 2/25/21) 

A: It depends. Note: ADE does not have the authority to determine what other state education 
agencies or licensing agencies require for students residing in their state to receive services 
from someone outside of the state. Therefore, PEAs are encouraged to consult with their legal 
counsel to determine the best course of action in these situations. Although ADE does not 
have oversight responsibility or legal authority to tell districts who may provide services to 
students temporarily located out of state, there is no prohibition in Arizona statute that would 
prohibit a student enrolled in an Arizona PEA, but temporarily located out of state, from 
receiving services from a properly credentialed provider in that state. If an out-of-state provider 
delivers services to an AZ student located in AZ, he/she must meet the following criteria. 
Speech-Language Technicians (SLTs) and Speech-Language Pathologists (SLPs) must hold 
both a current license from the Arizona Department of Health Services (AZDHS) and a current 
professional non-teaching certificate from the Arizona Department of Education (ADE). 
Speech-Language Pathology Assistants (SLPAs) are only required to hold a current license 
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from AZDHS. PEAs are encouraged to consult with their legal counsel to determine the best 
course of action in these situations.  

Q: How do I know if the speech provider is licensed and/or certified in Arizona? (Posted 
2/25/21) 

A: You may confirm the AZDHS license by entering the holder’s name in the AZDHS’s Care 
Check Portal. District and charter school human resource administrators may confirm the ADE 
certificate through the Certification Portal via their ADE Connect account. 

Q: Are SLPAs and COTAs allowed to provide teletherapy? (Posted 4/14/20) 

A: Please consult your PEA’s legal counsel and the practitioner’s licensing organization. Many 
PEAs are already providing services by SLPs via teletherapy.  

Q: Is there a confidentiality issue when providing teletherapy online to a group of students, 
rather than one-on-one? (Posted 3/26/20) 

A: FERPA does not apply as therapy is not an educational record. Teletherapists should follow 
any ethical guidelines associated with their therapist organizations. See the additional FERPA 
information from OSEP.  Please consult with legal counsel for an interpretation of the statutes 
and how they apply to your specific practice area.   

Q: Can a PEA choose to provide all therapies via teletherapy? (Posted 3/26/20) 

A: ADE does not mandate how a district provides a FAPE to students.  Teletherapies can be 
utilized if it is feasible to do so and meets the needs of the individual student. PEAs must make 
reasonable efforts to provide a FAPE to students with disabilities, and teletherapies may be 
appropriate, if it is feasible to do so.  Teletherapists should follow any ethical guidelines 
associated with their therapist organizations. If it is not safe or feasible to deliver instruction to 
a student and provide a FAPE, then the team should consider compensatory education on an 
individual basis once school resumes.   
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