

Arizona Cosmetology License Fact Sheet

Certifying Organization	Arizona State Board of Cosmetology								
Description of Credentials	Licensed Cosmetologist The State of Arizona requires you to be licensed prior to working legally in the state in any cosmetology or personal grooming field.								
Entry-Level Annual Salaries	\$25,000-\$30,000 Annually.								
	Industry-Based Certification Requirements: Students								
Standard / Curriculum	The program must follow the Arizona Department of Education, Career and Technical Education-approved coherent sequence of instruction that addresses all industry-validated technical standards for the program. In addition, the program must be approved and in good standing by the Arizona Board of Cosmetology.								
Testing Methodology (consists of two tests)	Paper?		Online – Cognitive portion	XX	Performance Exa Psychomotor po		XX		
Re-Testing (if available)	Re-Testing Procedures					Max Attempts			
Testing Details (including any age requirements / accommodations)	STEP 1: Register online with Professional Credential Services, Inc. (PCS) to take the examination. Registration website: www.pcshq.com Click "Applicants & Candidates," Click "Cosmetology & Barbering," Click "Arizona," Click "On type of Examination," Click "Create an account." Pay \$177.00 by credit card to PCS for both the written & practical exam. PCS Account Benefits: Check status 24/7 - this includes viewing assigned test dates if approved by Board Office. In addition to ATT Letter (Authorization to Test), an Official Admission Notice for Practical will be emailed (10 business days prior to examination date). All scores notices will be emailed (10 business days after the exam date). Reprint Admission Letters, ATT Letters, Score Notices.								



Arizona Cosmetology License Fact Sheet

	STEP 2: Submit	Examination Appl	ication to	Arizona State Bo	pard of Cosmetology		
	 STEP 2: Submit Examination Application to Arizona State Board of Cosmetology COMPLETE, SIGN AND MAIL the Examination application to the board: Mailing address: (NEW LOCATION) Arizona State Board of Cosmetology 1740 W Adams #4400 Phoenix AZ 85007 Attach a 2X2 PASSPORT PHOTO to your application. Certification of Graduation (must be on School's Letterhead) with verification of completion of the 1600 required training hours. Lawful presence to include supporting document that shows proof of presence in the United States is authorized under the Federal law. Proof of High School Education & proof of age (16 years old) or Proof of age (over 18 years old). Pay \$70.00 to Arizona Board of Cosmetology. Money Order must be paid to the "AZ BD of Cosmetology" 						
Industry-Based Certification Requirements: Teachers							
Instructor Certification Requirements (by certifying agency) Proctoring / Test Security (if any)	Instructor must meet the requirements of the AZ Board of Cosmetology and the AZ Dept. of Education CTE requirements. www.boc.az.gov. PCS is the facilitator of all cosmetology exams.						
Certification Tracking							
Credentialing Documentation	Licensure is provided in the form of a license document to be displayed at workspace.						
Certification Tracking System	Online Tracking System?	XX	Details	www.boc.az.gov			
Other Details				Expiration? Timeline?	2 years on birthdate.		
Certification Costs / Funding Sources							
Cost Details	-	PCS for processing izona Board of Co	-				



Arizona Cosmetology License Fact Sheet

Re-test / Refund Policies	Fees are non-refundable.			
For More Information				
Certifying Agency Contact Info	www.boc.az.gov Arizona Board of Cosmetology.			