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M E M O R A N D U M

Date:

April 16, 2012
To:

Driver Education Coordinators

From:

Jean Ajamie, Director



School Safety and Prevention

Subject:
Driver Education Program Application for School Year 2012-2013
Enclosed is the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) Driver Education Program application for the 2012–2013 school year.  If your school meets the stated requirements and would like to participate in this program, please complete and return the application by May 31, 2012 to the address listed on the form (please do not fax the application).  The requirements of the Driver Education Program are:

1. Students receive at least 30 hours of classroom instruction;

2. Students receive at least 6 hours (or the equivalent) of behind-the-wheel (BTW) instruction;

3. The class and BTW is taught by a certified teacher with a driver education endorsement; and

4. The principal or superintendent verifies the school information.

Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS) 28-3174 requires, in part, that minors interested in receiving a class G driver license must successfully complete an approved driver education program or have a parent or guardian certify that they received 30 hours of supervised driving practice with at least 10 of those at night.  High school driver education programs approved by the ADE are approved programs under this law.
The Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division (MVD), allows driver education teachers in participating schools to issue Certificates of Completion to their students who successfully complete the course.  MVD waives the BTW portion of the driver’s license test for students with Certificates of Completion, although they reserve the right to administer tests to any applicant.  More information about the Certificates of Completion is available by calling MVD Driver Services at (602) 712-7173.  Driver License Manuals may be requested through the MVD at the same number, or viewed/printed online at http://www.azdot.gov/mvd/custsvcguide.asp.
Information on driver education endorsements can be found at http://www.azed.gov/educator-certification/files/2011/09/drivers-ed-endorsement.pdf.  Currently there are no Arizona universities or colleges offering the coursework needed to obtain an endorsement.  We are working with ADE Certification to determine appropriate coursework offered by other entities.  Any school having difficulty finding teachers with a driver education endorsement may choose to not participate in the ADE program if approved by your district.  If you have questions regarding the driver education application, please contact Tori Havins at (602) 542-8720 or Victoria.Havins@azed.gov.  Thank you for your efforts to ensure the safety and well-being of our students.
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