Superintendent Hoffman Convenes Technology Task Force to Address Digital Divide and Tech Needs for Schools

Published: July 6th, 2020


PHOENIX – Superintendent of Public Instruction Kathy Hoffman today announced the formation of the Arizona Department of Education Technology Task Force – a group of partners from across the state who are committed to addressing a variety of technology needs our schools and students have.


The group will work to find innovative solutions to address the extreme digital divide across Arizona, that has been exasperated due to the need for distance learning. The group will explore opportunities to strengthen public and private partnerships. Additionally, the group will work to support Education Technology and Computer Science Standards across the state.


“Access to technology and broadband internet is an issue of educational equity,” said Superintendent Hoffman. “These challenges existed prior to COVID-19, but the pandemic exposed the critical need to connect hundreds of thousands of students and their families to technology. I look forward to working with the leaders on our task force as we find ways to bridge the digital divide in Arizona.”


Arizona Department of Education Technology Task Force:

Shawnae Holguin Lead of IT Team, Baboquivari Unified School District
Mary Knight Director of Technology, Flagstaff Unified School District
Brian Nelson ASU, Mary Lou Fulton College
Jon Castelhano Executive Director of Technology, Gilbert Public Schools
Alex Lopez Director of Technology, Nogales Unified School District
Stephanie Parra All In Education
Tracey Beal School Connect
Rachael Parks Director of Technology, Leona Group
Gail Knight Balsz School District Governing Board
Stan Goligoski Yavapai County Education Service Agency
Amber Akapnitis AZ School for the Deaf and Blind
Mark Breen Director of Technology, Vail School District
Renee E. Levin Intel
Jeremy Babendure AZ SciTech
RJ Muller Cox Communications
Janice Palmer Helios Education Foundation
Ilana Lowry Common Sense Media
Matt Pittinsky
Jaime Casap Google
Daisy Murillo Student Representative
Dr. Traci Morris Director of the American Indian Policy Institute at ASU
Tom Osmun Dell Technologies
Kari Lipman Insight
John Kelly Triadvocates
Matthew Clark Verizon
Betsy Hargrove Superintendent, Avondale Unified School District
Robert Koerperich Superintendent, Holbrook Unified School District
Janice Mak Board Member, AZ State Board of Education
Chad Gestson Superintendent, Phoenix Union High School District
Glenn Wike Arizona Community Foundation
Jacqui Clay Cochise County Superintendent
Michelle Burke Software and App Design, Lake Havasu High School
Milton Mattox Cipherloc Corporation
Robert J Schroeder AZ Western College