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TO:  Special Education Residential Voucher Program Administrators  

 

FROM: Yousef Awaad, Director of School Finance 

 

DATE: July 27, 2010  

 

SUBJECT: Fiscal Year 2010 Special Education Residential Voucher Program 

 

As per ARS § 15-1184 attached is a copy of the voucher rates for the 2009-2010 school year. 

 

Instructions for the on-line voucher application can be found at http://www.ade.az.gov/ess/vouchers.  

Voucher payments will continue to be made on a monthly basis.  Claims must be submitted by the end 

of business, ten days after the month in which the service was provided (i.e. the August claim is due 

on September 10
th

).  Claims received after the 10
th

 of the month will be processed the following 

month.   

 

You must submit and activate your fiscal year 2010 calendar electronically before we are able to 

process any payments.  Your calendar must be submitted on-line using your common logon user name 

and password at https://www.ade.az.gov/commonlogon/Login.asp?Mode=Logon. After clicking on 

LEA Calendars, you will find a manual that will walk you through submitting your calendar. Please 

note, no payment will be issued without a current, active calendar submitted. 

 

If you have any questions regarding claim submission/procedures, or do not have a common logon, 

please contact  Shirley.Willis@azed.gov  or (602) 542-8245.  
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Special Education Residential Voucher 
Daily Rates for FY 2010 

 
Pursuant to Arizona Revised Statute 15-1184, below is the statutory formula funding daily rates for 

school year July 2009 through June 2010.  Rate calculations are based on Arizona's mandated 180 

school session days.  Facilities operating outside of Arizona will be funded at the rates below for the 

legislative mandated school session days of the state in which they are operating.  Funding will not be 

provided for any days that exceed the state's mandated session days.  Every facility is required to 

submit a calendar that defines all session days, observed holidays, spring and winter breaks and any 

other exception days.  Calendars are limited to state legislative mandated session days.  Year round 

schools will only be funded for the state legislative mandated session days for the state in which the 

facility operates.  Extended School Year funding is included in the regular session daily rate; additional 

funding is not available to facilities to provide ESY services. 

     

K-8 HS(9-12) Category K-8* HS (9-12)* 

26 56   Autistic $128.5827 $130.5796 

8 38   Emotional Disability  $37.9761 $37.9761 

15 45   Emotionally Disabled (Private) $110.2290 $112.2259 

16 46   Hearing Impairment  $109.3031 $111.3001 

9 39   Mild Mental Retardation $37.9761 $37.9761 

19 49   Moderate Mental Retardation $102.9492 $104.9462 

21 51   Multiple Disabilities $128.5827 $130.5796 

20 50  Multiple Disabilities – Severe Sensory Impairment $166.9602 $168.9572 

10 40  Non Special Education  $37.9761 $37.9761 

22 58  Orthopedic Impairment $145.6474 $147.6444 

11 52  Other Health Impairment $37.9761 $37.9761 

24 54  Severe Mental Retardation $128.5827 $130.5796 

12 42  Specific Learning Disabled $37.9761 $37.9761 

13 43  Speech Language Impairment                                                     $37.9761 $37.9761 

25 55  Visual Impairment $109.9385 $111.9355 

*A student’s daily rate is established based on the age of the student on September 1
st
.  A student who turns 14 

years of age on or before September 1
st
, will be funded for the entire school year at the daily rate in the 9 – 12 

column.  A student, who turns 14 years of age anytime after September 1
st
, will be funded for the entire school 

year at the daily rate in the K-8 column.   Fundable Daily Rate is determined by the student’s primary disability 

approved by ADE/ESS. 

Funding will not begin until after students are approved by ADE/ESS and a correctly completed claim form is 

received by School Finance.  Only submit claims on students for which a signed voucher approval with a current 

year number has been received from ADE/ESS. 

Funding starts on the latter of date of ADE/ESS approval or date student actually enrolls and begins to receive 

educational services.  Funding ends on the earliest of: expiration date of ADE/ESS approval, date student 

discharges from facility or date student withdraws and stops receiving educational services.  For example - 

student approval is dated 09/01/09, student enrolls and begins receiving educational services 09/10/09 - 1st day 

of funding is 09/10/09; student withdraws and stops receiving educational services 11/10/09, student discharges 

11/11/09 - last day of funding is 11/10/09. 

 


