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M E M O R A N D U M

Date:

April 6, 2016
To:

Driver Education Coordinators

From:

Tori Havins, Program Specialist


School Safety and Prevention

Subject:
Driver Education Program Application for School Year 2016-2017 and 
New Driver Education Endorsement Avenue
Enclosed is the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) Driver Education Program application for the 2016–2017 school year.  If your school meets the stated requirements and would like to participate in this program, please complete and return the application by May 31, 2016 to the address listed on the form (please do not fax the application).  The requirements of the Driver Education Program are:
1. Students receive at least 30 hours of classroom instruction;

2. Students receive at least 6 hours (or the equivalent) of behind-the-wheel (BTW) instruction;

3. The class and BTW is taught by a certified teacher with a driver education endorsement; and

4. The principal or superintendent verifies the school information.

Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS) 28-3174 requires, in part, that minors interested in receiving a class G driver license must successfully complete an approved driver education program or have a parent or guardian certify that they received 30 hours of supervised driving practice with at least 10 of those hours at night.  High school driver education programs approved by the ADE are approved programs under this law.
The Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division (MVD), allows driver education teachers in participating schools to issue Certificates of Completion to their students who successfully complete the course.  MVD waives the BTW portion of the driver’s license test for students with Certificates of Completion, although they reserve the right to administer tests to any applicant.  Contact MVD Driver Services at (602) 712-7173 for more information.  Driver License Manuals may be requested through the MVD at the same number, or viewed/printed online at http://www.azdot.gov/mvd/driver-services/Tests_Manuals/manuals.
ADE has partnered with the Yavapai County Education Service Agency to develop a series of workshop courses that will apply towards a Driver Education Endorsement.  We are looking at summer and fall workshop dates and will provide this information once the dates are finalized.    Information on driver education endorsements may be found at http://www.azed.gov/educator-certification/files/2011/09/drivers-ed-endorsement.pdf.  
If you have questions regarding the ADE Driver Education Program, please contact Tori Havins at (602) 542-8720 or Victoria.Havins@azed.gov.  Thank you for your efforts to ensure the safety and well-being of our students.

