	[image: image1.jpg]oA

ADOT




	[image: image2.jpg]Arizona Department of Transportation




Motor Vehicle Division

1801 West Jefferson Street     Phoenix, Arizona 85007



	Janet Napolitano

Governor

Victor M. Mendez

Director


	June 16, 2008
	Stacey K. Stanton

   Division Director


Re:  High School Driver Education Program Updates
Dear High School Driver Education Instructor:

I’d like to begin by thanking you for providing Arizona high school students essential driver education which helps establish a foundation for good driving habits throughout their lifetime.  The time and effort that each of you commit to this instruction is commendable.  

There are some changes to the High School Driver Education Program that all of you should be aware of as the new school year approaches.  
On July 1, 2008 there will be changes occurring to Class G permits and Class G licenses as a result of the Teen Driver Safety Act being signed into law last year.  The following summarizes the impact of this legislation on teen drivers.  This information will be available on the Motor Vehicle Division website at: http://www.azdot.gov/mvd/driver/gdl/gdl.asp.
Provisions:

Graduated Instruction Permit:

· Eligibility to obtain Graduated Instruction Permit: Age 15 and 6 months (was 15 and 7 months) 

· Applicant must pass written and vision tests.
· During Graduated Instruction Permit stage a licensed driver at least 21 years of age must occupy the front passenger seat

· Teen driver must hold Graduated Instruction Permit a minimum of 6 months before being eligible for a Graduated Driver License 
· Teen must be at least 16 years of age to obtain a Graduated Driver License

· To obtain a Graduated Driver License requires a custodial parent or guardian certifying that the teen has at least 30 hours of supervised driving practice, including 10 hours of nighttime driving practice (was 25 hours including 5 hours nighttime driving practice) and the teen must successfully complete the MVD road test, OR the teen provides a certificate for skills training from a MVD licensed professional driving school including a driver education program certified by the Arizona Department of Education
Graduated Driver License:

· During the first six months a teen with a Graduated Driver License shall not drive between the hours of midnight and 5:00 A.M. unless either: 

· Accompanied by a parent or legal guardian who has a current/valid driver license, and occupies the front passenger seat, OR 

· Is driving directly to or from a sanctioned school sponsored activity, the licensee’s place of employment, a sanctioned religious activity, or a family emergency. 

· Note: Citation for violation of either of the above, may be dismissed by the court if any of the following are presented to the court before the court  appearance date: 

· The parent or legal guardian presents a written, notarized letter to the court that the licensee was going to or returning from a sanctioned school sponsored activity, licensee’s place of employment, a sanctioned religious activity or a family emergency  OR
· A written, notarized letter from the licensee’s place of employment stating the licensee was returning from the licensee’s place of employment OR 

· A written, notarized letter from a representative of the sanctioned religious activity, certifying the licensee was returning from the religious activity. 

· Teens with Graduated Driver License shall not drive at any time on any public highway if the vehicle contains more than one passenger under the age of 18. 

· Exceptions: 

· Restriction does not apply if passengers are teen driver’s siblings OR 

· If teen driver is accompanied by a parent or legal guardian with a current/valid driver license and occupies the front passenger seat. 

· Note: Citation for violation of the above may be dismissed by the court if the licensee produces a written, notarized letter from their parent or legal guardian to the court, before the court appearance date/time, stating that the passengers in the vehicle with the licensee at the time of the violation were siblings of the licensee. 
Penalties:

Upon conviction of violations of nighttime driving/passenger restrictions during first six months:

· For a first violation: Maximum civil penalty of $75 and the 6-month restricted Graduated Driver License period is extended for an additional 30-days 

· For a second violation:  Maximum civil penalty of $100 and the 6-month restricted Graduated Driver License period is extended to an additional 60-days 

· For a third or subsequent violation: Maximum civil penalty of $100 and the restricted Graduated Driver License is suspended for 30-days 

End of Restrictions: Graduated Driver License

Upon completion of first six months of restricted driving, if the teen driver has no outstanding extension of restricted driving period or suspensions of driving privilege, the teen driver may drive without restrictions until eligible to apply for a Class D driver license beginning at age 18.
All penalties/suspensions/extension of restricted driver license must be completed before the graduated driver licensee will be eligible to obtain a Class D operator license at age 18. 

Upon convictions for other moving violations reported to the MVD for all graduated driver licensees under the age of 18:

· First Violation:  Driver must attend Traffic Survival School and points placed on driving record

· Second Violation:  Mandatory 3-month suspension, and points placed on driving record

· Third Violation:  Mandatory 6-month suspension and points placed on driving record

· Note:  These moving violations do not include those which may have been dismissed by attending a court sponsored Defensive Driving School.
On July 1, 2008 the length of time a high school driver education Certificate of Completion is valid for will be changed from 6 months to 12 months from the date of issue.  This is in part tied to the increased duration in the permit holding period (to 6 months), but also will help instructors from having to reissue certificates to students that have not submitted their certificates to MVD before the expiration date. The MVD customer service offices are being alerted of this change through an office memo and should any of your students encounter any problems with submitting a certificate due to being expired, please contact our office for assistance.  The updated certificates will also eliminate the “Motorcycle – Class M” from being an option for instruction because no high school driver education programs are currently authorized to perform this type of instruction.  As part of our cost saving measures, the current certificates which state that they are valid for 6 months will not be replaced until the existing inventory is used up.  You should start seeing the new certificates that state that they are valid for 12 months later this year.
The last change that we would like to inform you of is that the Motor Vehicle Division has been working with the Arizona Department of Education to update the Professional Standards for driver education.  This document, when completed, will outline standards for both high school driver education program instructors and licensed professional driver training school instructors to teach to their students.  The exact curriculum used to teach the standards will be left to the schools, and in many cases very little, if any, adjustments to what is currently being taught will be needed.  This set of standards will help direct course content for all students receiving driver education in Arizona, and it will be distributed when completed.
In conclusion, I’d like to again thank you all for the service you provide to Arizona’s teen drivers and the public as a whole.
If you have any questions on the topics that I’ve covered, please contact either myself or Rocky Hopkins at TPDS@azdot.gov or by mail to: Motor Vehicle Division, Traffic Survival School Program, Mail Drop 531M, PO Box 2100, Phoenix, AZ  85001-2100. Our direct office telephone number is 602-712-7173. 

Sincerely,

Thomas Opalka 

Traffic Survival School Program Supervisor

